ClickUp pricing: what it really costs
As of 26 September 2026, ClickUp prices its cheapest paid plan, Unlimited, at $10 a month per member ($7 billed yearly), with Business at $19 a member ($12 yearly) and a permanently free Free Forever plan with no member cap. A five-person agency lands on Unlimited for $50 a month and should expect to move to Business once the team leans on Dashboards, Timeline or Workload views, which Unlimited caps at 100 uses per Workspace that never reset. Brain AI and Everything AI cost extra per member on top of any paid plan. Enterprise pricing is quote-only.
- Cheapest paid plan
- $10/mo Unlimited
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- No
- Real bill, small team
- $50/mo 5 seats
ClickUp plans and prices
ClickUp's published plans as of 26 September 2026: the month-to-month price, the effective monthly price when billed annually, and what each plan is priced by (US list prices in USD).
| Plan | Monthly | Billed annually | Priced | Key limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free ForeverFree with no time limit and no cap on members. Many paid features are included only as a fixed number of trial 'uses' per Workspace that never reset. | Free | Free | per seat / month | 60MB total file storage per Workspace; 5 Spaces; 5 active Automations and 100 Automation actions per month; Trial uses that never reset: 60 each for Custom Fields, Gantt, Timeline, Workload and Dashboards; 100 time-tracking uses (creating, editing or deleting time entries); 1 Form, 3 Whiteboards, 2 Teams (user groups); Chat message history: 30 days; Activity view: 24 hours; Guests get full edit access that can't be restricted; Brain AI trial only (25 uses for a Workspace of up to 10 people); AI add-ons can't be bought |
| UnlimitedPer paid member (owners, admins, members and limited members). $7 per member per month applies when billed yearly. | $10 | $7per month | per seat / month | 1,000 Automation actions per month; 500 active Automations; Dashboards, Timeline and Workload views: 100 uses each per Workspace, never reset (viewing a Dashboard counts as a use); 10 Whiteboards; 3 Teams (user groups); Permission-controlled guest seats: 5 for a one-member Workspace, plus 2 per additional member; Activity view: 7 days |
| BusinessPer paid member. $12 per member per month applies when billed yearly. Labeled 'Popular' on the pricing page. | $19 | $12per month | per seat / month | 5,000 Automation actions per month (unlimited active Automations); 10 Teams (user groups); Permission-controlled guest seats: 10 for a one-member Workspace, plus 5 per additional member; Advanced time tracking (billable time, time entry tags and descriptions, Timesheet entries): 100 uses |
| EnterprisePrice by quote ('Contact sales'). ClickUp accepts bank transfers for Enterprise orders above a minimum it doesn't publish. | Custom | Custom | custom quote | 250,000 Automation actions per month; more can be purchased; Guest seats: same allowance as Business |
What you will really pay
What a business actually pays for ClickUp each month at three sizes, with every line of the bill shown. Built from the prices above as of 26 September 2026; open “How we worked this out” under any total for the assumptions.
Solo: 1 seat
$10 / month
high confidence- Unlimited plan, 1 seat x $10, billed monthly$10
Plan: Unlimited · billed monthly.
How we worked this out
One person running a business's projects and docs in ClickUp. Free Forever costs $0 but caps file storage at 60MB per Workspace and gives only a fixed number of trial uses that never reset (60 for Custom Fields and Gantt, 100 for time tracking), so the scenario uses Unlimited, the cheapest plan without those caps: 1 seat x $10, billed monthly. No AI add-on. Billed yearly: 1 x $7 = $7/mo. Adding Brain AI is +$14/mo month-to-month (+$9/mo yearly). Someone who attaches few files and can live with the trial limits can stay on Free Forever for $0.
Small team: 5 seats
$50 / month
high confidence- Unlimited plan, 5 seats x $10, billed monthly$50
Plan: Unlimited · billed monthly.
How we worked this out
5 members on Unlimited, the plan ClickUp describes as best for small teams: unlimited storage, Gantt charts, Custom Fields and time tracking, 1,000 Automation actions a month, and 13 permission-controlled guest seats for clients (5 + 2 x 4 additional members). 5 seats x $10, billed monthly. No AI add-on. Billed yearly: 5 x $7 = $35/mo. Unlimited allows only 100 uses each of Dashboards, Timeline and Workload views for the whole Workspace, never reset (viewing a Dashboard counts); a team that plans in those views needs Business: 5 x $19 = $95/mo month-to-month (5 x $12 = $60/mo yearly). Brain AI is charged on every member: +5 x $14 = $70/mo month-to-month.
Growing team: 15 seats
$285 / month
high confidence- Business plan, 15 seats x $19, billed monthly$285
Plan: Business · billed monthly.
How we worked this out
15 members on Business. Unlimited's limits force the upgrade at this size: Dashboards, Timeline and Workload views are capped at 100 uses per Workspace that never reset (viewing a Dashboard counts as a use), Automation actions at 1,000 a month shared by everyone, and user groups (Teams) at 3. Business makes those views unlimited and raises the limits to 5,000 Automation actions a month and 10 Teams. 15 seats x $19, billed monthly. No AI add-on. Billed yearly: 15 x $12 = $180/mo. Staying on Unlimited would be 15 x $10 = $150/mo month-to-month. Brain AI for all 15 members adds 15 x $14 = $210/mo month-to-month (15 x $9 = $135/mo yearly); Everything AI adds 15 x $33 = $495/mo (15 x $28 = $420/mo yearly).
ClickUp’s pricing page leads with per-seat plan prices, but two of its biggest real costs sit outside that table: a set of feature “uses” that quietly cap out and never come back, and AI add-ons billed per member on top of whatever plan a Workspace already pays for. Here is which plan actually fits each size of team, and where the real bill diverges from the sticker price.
Which ClickUp plan fits a solo user, a small team or a growing one?
ClickUp bills every paid plan per Workspace member, so the real question for each size of business is which plan its people need, not just which plan costs least on paper. A solo operator could run ClickUp on Free Forever, at $0 a month, but its 60MB total storage cap and its one-time allowance of Custom Field and Gantt “uses” rule it out for anyone who plans to stick around past a first project, so the real solo bill above, $10 a month, runs on Unlimited instead.
A small team of five members fits the same Unlimited plan, for $50 a month, and picks up unlimited storage, Custom Fields and Gantt charts in the process. What Unlimited does not lift is the Dashboards, Timeline and Workload cap: still 100 uses each per Workspace, never reset, whether one person hits that ceiling or fifty share it. A growing team of 15 members typically runs into that ceiling hard enough to need Business, which is why the real growing-team bill above, $285 a month, runs on Business rather than Unlimited — Business lifts the 100-use cap entirely and raises the monthly Automation-action allowance from Unlimited’s 1,000 to 5,000.
What are ClickUp’s “uses,” and why do they never reset?
ClickUp’s plan-comparison table lists Custom Fields, Gantt charts, Timeline, Workload and Dashboards as included on every plan, but “included” does not mean unlimited until Unlimited or Business actually lifts each one. Free Forever grants a one-time allowance of 60 uses each for Custom Fields, Gantt, Timeline, Workload and Dashboards, plus 100 time-tracking uses, and none of it refills once spent. Unlimited removes the Custom Field and Gantt caps for good but keeps its own version for Dashboards, Timeline and Workload, at a higher but still fixed 100 uses per Workspace — shared by everyone in it, not issued per person.
ClickUp’s own pricing FAQ defines a “use” loosely enough to catch a team off guard: opening a Dashboard counts the same as building one. A team that checks a shared Dashboard daily can burn through Unlimited’s 100-use allowance in weeks, long before anyone intended to create 100 different Dashboards. ClickUp says it grants a grace period once a Workspace crosses a limit, but the durable fix is the same either way: move to Business, which drops the 100-use ceiling on Dashboards, Timeline and Workload entirely.
How much do Brain AI and Everything AI really add to the bill?
ClickUp never bundles AI into a plan price; Brain AI and Everything AI are separate add-ons layered on top of whatever plan a Workspace already pays for. Brain AI costs $14 per Workspace member a month billed monthly, or $9 billed yearly, for unlimited fair-use AI chat and writing plus a monthly pool of AI Super Credits. Everything AI costs $33 a month or $28 yearly and adds AI Notetaker, Ambient Answers and Autopilot Agents on top of everything Brain AI includes.
The part easy to miss: both add-ons bill for every member in the Workspace, not only the people who actually touch AI, and that includes a seat a removed member left behind until someone new fills it or the add-on is dropped entirely. Because Brain AI’s own per-member price already runs higher than Unlimited’s seat price, and Everything AI’s higher still than Business’s, turning either add-on on for a whole team can add more to the bill than the underlying plan itself costs. Free Forever Workspaces can’t buy either add-on at all: the only AI there is a one-time trial of 25 Brain AI uses for a Workspace of up to 10 people.
Is ClickUp’s yearly billing worth it, and how hard is it to reverse?
Yearly billing is cheaper on every plan and add-on ClickUp sells, but its own “up to” framing is not a reliable ceiling. Unlimited drops from $10 to $7 a member, exactly matching the “Save up to 30% with yearly” ClickUp advertises for plans, while Business drops from $19 to $12 — a real saving of about 37%, beyond what that same 30% headline promises. The AI add-ons run the opposite way at least once: Brain AI’s yearly rate saves close to 36%, again past ClickUp’s separate “up to 20%” claim for AI, while Everything AI’s yearly rate saves only around 15%, short of it. None of the four numbers is wrong, but only one of the four actually matches ClickUp’s own advertised percentage.
The bigger catch is switching, not the math. ClickUp won’t let one Workspace run monthly and yearly licenses side by side, and moving from monthly to yearly isn’t a self-serve toggle: it takes contacting Support, and the switch bills the next 12 months immediately at the new rate. A Workspace unsure of its headcount for the year ahead should stay on monthly rather than lock in a rate it might outgrow, or shrink past, before the term is up.
What else can push a ClickUp Workspace’s bill above the plan price?
A few mechanics in the add-ons and fine print above are easy to miss until they hit. Run out of permission-controlled guest seats — 5 plus 2 per member on Unlimited, 10 plus 5 per member on Business — and inviting one more guest doesn’t fail; ClickUp adds a new paid member seat automatically instead, which raises the guest allowance and then stays on the bill. AI Super Credits meter separately from either AI add-on, at $10 per 10,000 credits a month, and once a Workspace uses just over its allowance, Super Agents, AI Fields and image generation stop working until credits renew the next month unless it buys more.
The money-back guarantee ClickUp advertises is narrower than the pricing page implies, too: its help center limits the full refund to a new customer’s first paid-plan subscription, not to every renewal or every add-on bought afterward. And one real question ClickUp’s own help center never answers: whether a seat a removed member leaves behind keeps costing money at the next renewal if nobody fills it, or drops off the bill — the documentation only says the seat “remains open.”
Is ClickUp or Notion the better fit for a small team’s docs and projects?
Notion competes for the same job as ClickUp: a per-member workspace for docs and projects, priced across comparable free, mid-tier and top-tier plans. ClickUp’s own plan pages list Gantt charts, Timeline, Workload views, Dashboards and Automations starting on Free Forever, none of which appear on Notion’s plan cards; Notion answers back by folding its AI assistant, Enterprise Search and meeting notes into a single Business seat price, where ClickUp sells comparable AI only as a separate per-member add-on stacked on top of any plan.
On seat price alone, ClickUp’s Unlimited plan costs less than Notion’s Plus at small-team size, and that ordering reverses at growing-team size once ClickUp’s Dashboards, Timeline and Workload caps force the move to Business. A team organized around dashboards, Gantt charts and workload views across several projects fits ClickUp’s model more directly; a team that mainly writes and organizes shared documents fits Notion’s. The Notion vs ClickUp comparison breaks down where each pulls ahead in more depth.
Add-ons, usage and other costs
3 paid add-onsClickUp sells on top of the plans, with the price and what each is charged per.
| Add-on | Price | Charged | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brain AI | $14 | per Workspace member per month, billed monthly | Plans: Unlimited, Business, Enterprise. $9 per member per month billed yearly. Bought per Workspace and charged for every member, not only the people who use AI; open seats left by removed members are charged too. Includes unlimited fair use of Brain (AI chat and writing with premium models such as Claude, ChatGPT and Gemini), Brain MAX apps and Workspace Enterprise Search, plus 1,500 AI Super Credits per user per month for Super Agents, AI Fields, Autopilot Agents and image generation. Free Forever Workspaces must upgrade to a paid plan first. |
| Everything AI | $33 | per Workspace member per month, billed monthly | Plans: Unlimited, Business, Enterprise. $28 per member per month billed yearly. Also purchased per Workspace member per month. Everything in Brain AI plus unlimited fair use of AI Notetaker, AI Fields, AI Assign and Prioritize, AI Cards, Ambient Answers, Autopilot Agents and image generation, 5,000 AI Super Credits per user per month for Super Agents, and two hours of 1:1 live onboarding with an AI expert. |
| AI Notetaker hour block | $12 | per month for a 60-hour block (smallest block) | Plans: Free Forever, Unlimited, Business, Enterprise. ClickUp says the AI Notetaker add-on includes 20 free hours and more are bought as a monthly block of hours; 'Blocks start at $12 per month for 60 hours.' AI Notetaker is sold as a standalone add-on on any plan and is included in Everything AI. ClickUp says AI Notetaker is in early access and its pricing may evolve. |
1 usage-based charge: what ClickUp bills per unit on top of the subscription.
| Usage | Rate | Per | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| AI Super Credits | $10 | per 10,000 credits per month ($0.001 per credit), bought in $10 increments | Credits run Super Agents, Autopilot Agents, AI Fields, AI Cards, AI Assign and Prioritize and image generation; Brain chat does not use them. They renew monthly, are shared across the Workspace and don't roll over. Brain AI includes 1,500 credits per user per month and Everything AI 5,000; without an AI add-on, paid plans get a one-time trial of 1,000 credits per user and Free Forever 500 per Workspace. ClickUp estimates 10 credits per use of AI Fields, 100 per generated image and 100-300 per Autopilot Agent or Super Agent run. Just over 100% of the monthly allowance, premium AI features stop until they renew the next month unless more credits are bought. |
Other costs that change the real bill: fees, processing and one-time charges.
| Cost | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Paid member seat added when guest seats run out | A paid member seat is added automatically when you invite a permission-controlled guest beyond your allowance | The new seat raises the guest allowance and stays open for the next member you invite. The same happens when a view-only guest is added to a Team (they become permission-controlled). View-only guests are unlimited and free. Allowance: 5 plus 2 per additional member on Unlimited; 10 plus 5 per additional member on Business, Business Plus and Enterprise. |
| AI credit overage protection (optional) | Up to $10/month automatic AI credit top-up, then a larger credit pack from the next renewal | Optional 'Avoid interruption' setting. It sets a maximum monthly top-up of $10; if it is triggered by using all AI Credits, ClickUp upgrades the Workspace's credit pack size at the next renewal. |
Billing rules worth knowing
- Plans are priced per paid member and cover the whole Workspace: everyone in a Workspace is on the same plan, and each Workspace is upgraded and billed separately.
- Yearly billing is cheaper: Unlimited $7 vs $10 and Business $12 vs $19 per member per month; Brain AI $9 vs $14 and Everything AI $28 vs $33. The page says 'Save up to 30% with yearly' for plans and 'Save up to 20% with yearly' for AI, but the listed prices work out to 30% off Unlimited, about 37% off Business, about 36% off Brain AI and about 15% off Everything AI.
- Monthly and yearly licenses can't be mixed in one Workspace. Switching from monthly to yearly billing means contacting Support, and the switch charges the next 12 months when the plan renews.
- Paid seats are owners, admins, members and limited members. 'Chat collaborators' (view-only limited members) are free on Unlimited and above, view-only guests are unlimited and free, and permission-controlled guests are free up to the plan's allowance. People from inside your organization are billed as paid users, not guests.
- Paid users added mid-cycle are charged a prorated amount for the time left in the cycle. When a member is removed, their seat stays open until a new member fills it; ClickUp's help centre does not say whether an open seat still counts toward the bill, or is dropped, at the next renewal if it stays unfilled.
- AI add-ons are bought per Workspace and billed for every member, including open seats: Brain AI for a 15-member Workspace is 15 x $14 = $210/mo month-to-month. Free Forever Workspaces can't buy AI add-ons.
- Automation action allowances reset on the first of every month (PST). When a Workspace goes over, its Automations pause for the rest of that month; extra actions can be bought only on Business Plus and Enterprise.
- Cancelling or downgrading takes effect at the end of the billing cycle, and add-ons must be removed separately. All paid plan subscriptions renew automatically.
- Refunds: the pricing page advertises a '100% Money-back Guarantee' and its FAQ says to ask within 30 days; the help centre limits the full refund to new customers within 30 days of their first paid plan subscription (including add-ons bought with it), with no refunds after 30 days.
- Payment by Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Discover; ClickUp can't process prepaid debit cards or PayPal. Bank transfer is accepted only for Enterprise orders above a minimum.
- Business Plus (custom role permissions, priority support, 25,000 Automation actions a month) is not on the public pricing page; ClickUp says its details show only in the in-app upgrade flow. The help centre also says some Workspaces see a new set of plans that include more ClickUp AI.
- ClickUp offers nonprofit and academic discounts and startup credits by application; amounts aren't published.
- ClickUp charges sales tax in some US jurisdictions (including New York, Pennsylvania, Texas and Washington) and VAT or GST in many other countries; the renewal total includes tax where it applies.
How we checked this
ClickUp: Read from ClickUp's pricing page in a US-locale headless browser (plan cards, both AI billing toggles, the complete feature list and each FAQ answer) and from ClickUp Help Center articles on pricing, billing, add-ons, AI credits and plan limits; snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.
- ClickUp pricing page as loaded: plan cards list both the billed-yearly and the billed-monthly price; AI section on its default Yearly setting — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp pricing page, AI pricing section with its Monthly toggle selected — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp pricing page, AI pricing section with its Yearly toggle selected — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp pricing page with the 'Complete feature list' table expanded (Spaces, storage, automations, Teams, guests) — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: What payment methods do you accept? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: What is your refund policy? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: How am I billed when I add paid users to a Workspace? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: What if I have multiple Workspaces? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: What happens if I cancel? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: Do you offer discounts for nonprofits, students, educators, or startups? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: What is a 'use' in context of ClickUp's plans? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: What happens when I hit my usage limits? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: Does adding Guests to my Workspace affect my plan or how I'm billed? — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Intro to pricing — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Pricing per user role and plan — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Intro to billing — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Upgrade your plan — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Downgrade your plan — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Purchase or cancel ClickUp add-ons — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: ClickUp Brain AI feature availability and limits (AI trial uses and credits by plan) — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Which features are included with the Brain AI add-ons? — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: How are AI Credits consumed? — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Track your Workspace's Brain AI usage (credit top-ups and overage protection) — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: AI Notetaker and Meetings Hub feature availability and limits — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Automations feature availability and limits — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Workspace storage limits — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Views feature availability and limits (Gantt, Timeline, Workload, Whiteboards) — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Dashboards feature availability and limits — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Intro to Custom Fields (uses by plan) — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Time Tracking feature availability and limits — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Teams feature availability and limits — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Owner, admin, and member-type user roles (which roles are paid; open seats) — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Remove someone from a Workspace — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Sales tax — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Is there a discount for non-profit or educational companies? — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp German-language pricing page (regional check: same USD prices) — read 26 September 2026
Automated re-check on : all 6 prices we re-read were still on ClickUp's pages.
- Enterprise pricing is quote-only ('Contact sales').
- Business Plus, and the 'new set of plans that include more ClickUp AI' that ClickUp's help centre says some Workspaces see, are priced only inside the app's upgrade flow; their prices are not on the public pricing page and were not captured.
- Prices of the Automation Actions add-on (Business Plus and Enterprise only), the standalone AI Talk to Text add-on and ClickUp Assist (live 1:1 training) are shown only in a Workspace's billing page or not at all on the pages we captured. Whether the standalone AI Notetaker add-on has a fee beyond its hour blocks is not stated.
- Nonprofit, academic and startup discount amounts are not published.
- ClickUp's 'Upgrade your plan' help article says Free Forever Workspaces with more than 100 MB of data must upgrade, while the pricing page, the feature list and the 'Workspace storage limits' article say 60MB; this record uses 60MB.
- Prices were read from a US locale; we did not test whether checkout shows different prices when accessed from other countries.
- Whether an open seat left by a removed member still counts toward the bill at the next renewal (or is dropped from it) is not stated anywhere in the captured Help Center articles; they only say the seat 'remains open' until a new member fills it.
We re-check every price against the vendor's page each Monday; changes are logged on the changes page. See a price that's wrong? Tell us and we will correct it the same week.
Frequently asked questions
How much does ClickUp cost per user?
ClickUp bills every paid plan per Workspace member. Free Forever costs $0 a month with no member limit, but caps total file storage at 60MB per Workspace and gives Custom Fields, Gantt, Timeline, Workload and Dashboards only a fixed one-time allowance of uses that never refill. Unlimited costs $10 a member a month billed monthly, or $7 billed yearly, and removes the storage cap while still limiting Dashboards, Timeline and Workload to 100 shared uses per Workspace. Business costs $19 a member a month, or $12 yearly, and lifts that 100-use cap entirely. Enterprise has no published price; ClickUp requires contacting sales for a quote. A five-member team on Unlimited, billed monthly, pays $50 a month in total, which is the real bill most small teams on ClickUp actually see.
Is ClickUp actually free, or does the free plan run out fast?
ClickUp's Free Forever plan is genuinely free with no time limit and no cap on the number of members or tasks, which is more generous than most competing free plans on headcount alone. The real limits sit elsewhere: total file storage caps at 60MB for the whole Workspace, and Custom Fields, Gantt charts, Timeline, Workload and Dashboards each get only 60 one-time "uses" that never refill once spent, alongside 100 time-tracking uses, 5 Spaces and 100 Automation actions a month. Chat history holds only 30 days and the Activity view only 24 hours. Guests on Free Forever get full edit access that can't be restricted, and Brain AI is limited to a one-time trial of 25 uses for a Workspace of up to 10 people, since Free Forever Workspaces can't buy an AI add-on at all. A team that uses ClickUp daily tends to outgrow these caps within weeks.
Does ClickUp charge extra for its AI features?
Yes, on top of any paid plan. Brain AI costs $14 per Workspace member a month billed monthly, or $9 billed yearly, and includes unlimited fair-use AI chat and writing plus a monthly pool of AI Super Credits. Everything AI costs $33 a month or $28 yearly and adds AI Notetaker, Ambient Answers, AI Assign and Prioritize, and Autopilot Agents on top of everything Brain AI includes. Both add-ons are billed for every member in the Workspace, not only the people who use AI, and that includes a seat a removed member left open until someone fills it or the add-on is removed. Free Forever Workspaces can't buy either add-on; they get a one-time trial of 25 Brain AI uses for a Workspace of up to 10 people instead. AI Super Credits, which power Super Agents, AI Fields and image generation, meter separately at $10 per 10,000 credits a month.
How does ClickUp bill when a Workspace adds or removes members?
ClickUp prorates a new paid seat rather than charging a full month right away: adding a member mid-cycle to a $10-a-month Unlimited seat or a $19 Business seat charges only for the days left before the next renewal. Paid seats cover owners, admins, members and limited members; "chat collaborators," who get view-only access, are free on Unlimited and above, and permission-controlled guests are free up to an allowance that scales with paid seats. When a member is removed, their seat does not disappear from the bill immediately — it stays open, ready for the next person invited — and ClickUp's help center does not say whether an unfilled open seat still counts toward the charge at the next renewal or drops off on its own. A Workspace letting several people go at once should confirm this directly rather than assume the bill shrinks automatically.
Is there a free trial of ClickUp's paid plans?
Not in the usual sense. ClickUp's own add-ons documentation says that to trial a paid plan, a Workspace has to contact Support directly rather than start one from the pricing page. What ClickUp does offer automatically is narrower: every Workspace gets an AI trial, for example 50 Brain AI uses for a Workspace of up to 10 people on Unlimited or Business, before deciding whether to buy Brain AI or Everything AI as an add-on. Free Forever itself has no time limit at all, so a Workspace can use ClickUp's core project and docs features indefinitely at $0 without ever starting a formal trial. Once a Workspace does subscribe to a paid plan, ClickUp's refund policy offers new customers a full refund if they ask within 30 days of that first paid subscription, covering any add-ons bought alongside it — though the help center states plainly that refunds stop being available after those first 30 days.
Does ClickUp's yearly billing actually save 30%?
It depends which plan or add-on you mean, and the advertised figure is not a strict ceiling either way. ClickUp's pricing page says "Save up to 30% with yearly" for its plans: Unlimited hits that exactly, at $7 a member a month billed yearly against $10 billed monthly, while Business actually saves more than the headline promises, working out to about 37% off its $19 monthly rate at $12 billed yearly. AI add-ons carry a separate "Save up to 20% with yearly" claim that runs the other way at both ends: Brain AI's $9 yearly rate against $14 monthly saves about 36%, again beating the advertised ceiling, while Everything AI's $28 yearly rate against $33 monthly saves only about 15%, short of it. Check the specific plan or add-on's own two prices rather than trusting either headline percentage.
Does ClickUp charge for guest access?
No, within limits that grow with your paid seats. View-only guests are unlimited and free on every plan, including Free Forever. Permission-controlled guests, who can edit rather than just view, are also free but capped: Unlimited allows 5 guest seats for a one-member Workspace plus 2 more for every additional member, and Business and above allow 10 plus 5 per additional member. Free Forever handles guests differently and less safely: every guest there gets full edit access that can't be restricted, rather than the permission controls paid plans offer. Run out of permission-controlled guest allowance on a paid plan and inviting one more guest doesn't get rejected — ClickUp automatically adds a new paid member seat instead, which raises the guest allowance and then stays on the Workspace's bill going forward, at $10 a month on Unlimited or $19 on Business.
First published 27 September 2026 · Last updated