CinchStack

Notion vs ClickUp

Quick answer

As of 27 September 2026, Notion's cheapest paid plan, Plus, costs $12 a seat a month ($10 billed yearly), while ClickUp's cheapest paid plan, Unlimited, costs $10 a seat a month ($7 billed yearly). Notion is built around pages and databases for documentation and knowledge; ClickUp is built around tasks, views and automations for running projects. An agency managing several client accounts fits ClickUp's task tracking and views better than Notion's flatter page structure. A freelancer who mostly writes and organizes reference material fits Notion's free plan, which stays free for a one-person workspace with no seat cost at all.

Which should you pick?

Which one we would pick for each kind of business, and the one-line reason.

If you run a…PickWhy
Marketing agencyClickUpClickUp's Spaces, Lists and multiple views handle several client projects and deadlines directly, and five seats cost less on ClickUp's Unlimited plan than on Notion's Plus plan.
Coach or course creatorNeitherNeither tool hosts lessons, sells a cohort or tracks student progress, so a course creator needs a platform built for that job instead of a wiki or a task board.
Online storeNotionA Shopify store mostly needs a lightweight home for SOPs, supplier details and a content calendar, which fits Notion's page-and-database model at a lower cost before the store has enough staff to need Gantt charts or workload views.
Local service businessClickUpRecurring job checklists, crew assignments and scheduling fit ClickUp's task-first views better than Notion's page-and-database model, and its per-seat price is also lower at a small team's size.
Freelancer or consultantNotionA freelancer with a short client list and no team to coordinate can run Notion's free plan at no cost, while ClickUp's free plan's storage and feature-use caps push a real solo bill onto its paid Unlimited plan.
Early-stage SaaSClickUpClickUp's sprint points and reporting on the Business plan target a product team's workflow directly, a feature neither of Notion's plans lists.

What each one really costs

The real monthly bill for Notion and ClickUp at three business sizes, using the same assumptions for both, as of 26 September 2026. Open either pricing page for every line of each bill.

SizeNotionClickUpCheaper
SoloSolo: 1 seat $0high confidence $10high confidence Notion, by $10/mo
Small teamSmall team: 5 seats $60high confidence $50high confidence ClickUp, by $10/mo
Growing teamGrowing team: 15 seats $180high confidence $285high confidence Notion, by $105/mo

Notion and ClickUp side by side

Notion and ClickUp side by side on the things that decide the choice for a small business, with our call on which has the edge on each.

What mattersNotionClickUpEdge
Cheapest way to startFree is unlimited in pages and blocks for one person, so a real solo bill is $0Free Forever is $0 too, but its 60MB storage cap and one-time feature 'uses' push a real solo bill to $10 on UnlimitedNotion
What the free plan really capsBlocks become 'limited' once a workspace has 2 or more members; Notion doesn't publish the number60MB total file storage per Workspace, plus fixed one-time 'uses' for Custom Fields, Gantt, Timeline, Workload and Dashboards that never resetTie
Core design centerPages and databases (subtasks, dependencies, custom properties) built for docs, wikis and light trackingTasks first, with dedicated Gantt, Timeline, Workload and Dashboard views built for running day-to-day project workTie
Built-in project-tracking viewsThe pricing page lists no dedicated Gantt, Timeline or Workload view; databases add subtasks and dependencies insteadFree Forever's own limits confirm Gantt, Timeline, Workload and Dashboards exist from the start, uncapped from Unlimited and BusinessClickUp
Seat price for a 5-person team$60 a month on Plus ($12 a seat)$50 a month on Unlimited ($10 a seat)ClickUp
Seat price for a 15-person team$180 a month, still on Plus; no plan limit forces an upgrade at this size$285 a month, forced onto Business once Dashboards, Timeline and Workload views exhaust their 100-use-per-Workspace ceilingNotion
Where AI pricing livesNotion Agent, Meeting Notes and Enterprise Search are bundled into the $24 Business seat priceBrain AI and Everything AI are separate per-member add-ons on top of any plan, at $14 or $33 a monthNotion
GuestsFree and unlimited on every paid plan; a guest opens only the pages they're invited toView-only guests are unlimited and free; permission-controlled guest seats are capped by a formula that scales with paid seatsNotion
Importing the other tool's contentNo documented importer for ClickUp content; moving in means exporting and rebuilding by hand or with a third-party toolA built-in importer turns a Notion HTML export into ClickUp Lists and a nested Doc on every plan, though comments and attachments are droppedClickUp
Admin and security controlsSAML SSO and private teamspaces from Business; SCIM provisioning and an audit log are Enterprise-only and quote-pricedGoogle SSO from Business; SAML SSO, SCIM provisioning and an audit log are Enterprise-only and quote-pricedTie
Contract and commitmentMonth-to-month or yearly by choice on every plan, with no mixed-billing restriction statedMonth-to-month or yearly by choice, but a Workspace can't mix monthly and yearly licenses, and switching to yearly means contacting supportNotion

Where does Notion actually win?

Notion’s advantage starts with its free plan. Free costs $0 a month and is genuinely unlimited in pages and blocks for a one-person workspace, for a solo real bill of $0 a month with no seat charge or storage cap. ClickUp’s Free Forever is also $0 a month, but it caps file storage at 60MB per Workspace and limits Custom Fields, Gantt, Timeline, Workload and Dashboards to a fixed number of “uses” that never reset, which is why a real ClickUp bill for one person lands at $10 a month on Unlimited instead.

Notion’s other advantage is where its AI lives: Notion Agent, AI Meeting Notes and Enterprise Search are bundled into the Business seat price, $24 a month, with no separate line item. ClickUp’s Brain AI and Everything AI are add-ons on top of any paid plan, at $14 or $33 a member a month, charged for every member whether they use AI or not, including a seat a former employee left open. Guests follow the same pattern: Notion’s are free and unlimited on every paid plan, limited to the pages they’re invited to; ClickUp’s permission-controlled guest seats are capped by a formula that scales with paid seats, though view-only guests are unlimited too.

Where does ClickUp actually win?

ClickUp’s advantage is depth of built-in project tracking. Free Forever’s own limits confirm Gantt charts, Timeline, Workload views and Dashboards exist from the first dollar, capped at a fixed number of uses; Unlimited removes the file-storage cap and makes Custom Fields, Gantt charts and time tracking unlimited, and Business makes Dashboards, Timeline and Workload unlimited too, plus sprint points and reporting. Notion’s plans list none of these as a dedicated view type; its databases add subtasks, dependencies and custom properties, useful for simple project tracking but not a Gantt chart or a workload view across a whole team.

Price is ClickUp’s other advantage, at least for a small team: five seats run $50 a month on Unlimited against $60 a month on Notion’s Plus.

How does the bill change as a team grows from one person to fifteen?

The two tools swap places as a team grows, and that reversal is the most useful number on this page. At one person, Notion is free and ClickUp is not: $0 against $10 a month. At five people, ClickUp is cheaper: $50 a month on Unlimited against $60 a month on Plus. By fifteen people the order flips back. Notion’s real bill is $180 a month, still on Plus, because Plus has no published seat cap and no feature that stops working at that size. ClickUp’s real bill is $285 a month, and it is not on Unlimited anymore: Unlimited’s Dashboards, Timeline and Workload views are capped at 100 uses for the whole Workspace, a limit that does not reset and that a fifteen-person team sharing those views burns through far faster than a five-person one, so the honest bill at that size is Business, at $19 a seat rather than $10.

That is the catch neither vendor’s pricing page states plainly: ClickUp’s per-workspace usage caps, not its seat price, are what push a growing team onto its pricier plan, while Notion’s per-seat model has no equivalent trap between Plus and Business unless the team specifically wants Notion Agent, SAML SSO or private teamspaces.

What does the free plan actually let you skip?

Both free plans are real, not just a trial, and both have a ceiling a growing team hits without warning. Notion Free is unlimited in pages and blocks only while the workspace has one member; once a second person joins, Notion’s own comparison table calls pages and blocks “limited” without publishing the number. ClickUp’s Free Forever has no membership trigger and welcomes unlimited members and tasks from the start, but it caps total file storage at 60MB for the whole Workspace and gives Custom Fields, Gantt charts, Timeline, Workload and Dashboards a fixed number of one-time uses that never come back once spent. Neither company calls this a “catch” on its pricing page; both frame the free plan as generous, and both are right about the parts they chose to publish.

AI is the other free-plan gap on both sides. Notion’s Free and Plus plans carry only a “Limited Trial” of Notion Agent, Meeting Notes and Research mode, with no stated length or usage cap. ClickUp’s Free Forever gets a 25-use trial of Brain AI for a Workspace of up to 10 people and can’t buy an AI add-on until the Workspace upgrades to a paid plan. A business that wants AI built into daily docs or tasks, not a trial, pays for it on both tools, just on different plans.

What does it cost to switch later?

Moving into ClickUp from Notion is the easier direction on paper. ClickUp’s help center documents a built-in Notion importer, available on every plan: export the Notion workspace as HTML, upload it, and ClickUp turns Notion pages into Lists inside one Folder and Notion docs into a single nested ClickUp Doc. The same article lists what does not survive the trip: comments, attachments and inline database task comments are dropped, and a Notion wiki does not automatically become a ClickUp wiki, though the imported pages can be converted by hand afterward. Moving the other way has no equivalent documented path; Notion’s help center does not list a ClickUp importer, so leaving ClickUp for Notion means exporting tasks and docs and rebuilding the structure inside Notion’s databases directly.

Commitment is a smaller switching cost than it looks. Every plan on both tools bills month-to-month or yearly by choice, with no forced annual contract. ClickUp’s one friction point: a Workspace can’t mix monthly and yearly licenses, and switching from monthly to yearly means contacting support, not clicking a toggle; Notion’s pricing page states no such restriction. Whichever tool you leave, budget time to move content out before cancelling: neither pricing page describes what happens to your docs or tasks once the subscription ends.

Where most advice gets this wrong

Most reviews describe ClickUp as the cheaper tool at scale and Notion as the cheaper tool for a solo user, and treat that as a fixed rule. The real bills above show it is not: Notion is the free option for one person, ClickUp is cheaper at five, and Notion is cheaper again at fifteen. The reason is structural, not a pricing gimmick. ClickUp’s Dashboards, Timeline and Workload views are capped by uses per Workspace, a shared pool a bigger team burns through faster the more people rely on it, so growth itself forces the upgrade to Business. Notion’s plans cap almost nothing by workspace size; its upgrade triggers are features, such as AI, SSO or private teamspaces, not headcount. A comparison that quotes only the sticker prices, $12 against $10, misses that the tool cheaper per seat on paper is the one more likely to force a plan change as the team grows, while the tool that looks pricier per seat is the one whose plan holds steady. The question worth asking first is whether the team will lean on Dashboards, Timeline and Workload views hard enough to burn through 100 shared uses, not which plan number looks smaller today.

Who should pick Notion, ClickUp or neither?

The verdicts above cover all six business types; two deserve more than a one-line pick. A course creator gets a wiki or a task board from either tool, not a place to host lessons, sell a cohort or track student progress, so Kajabi or Systeme.io fits that job better than this comparison. A Shopify store mainly needs a lightweight home for SOPs, supplier details and a content calendar, which Notion covers at a lower cost than ClickUp’s heavier, task-first design, at least before the store has enough staff to justify Gantt charts or workload views. A local-service business or an agency running several accounts leans the other way: recurring job checklists, crew assignments and multiple client projects are exactly what ClickUp’s Spaces, Lists and views hold, at a lower per-seat price at a small team’s size too. A SaaS startup usually fits ClickUp as well, mainly for the sprint points and reporting on its Business plan, a detail Notion’s plans don’t list. A freelancer with a short client list and no team to coordinate fits Notion’s free plan first, and pays either company only once a second person, or a real project-tracking need, shows up.

How we score them

Notion

Our score

4.2 / 5

Notion is a strong buy for a small business's organize layer because its per-seat pricing is fully public and predictable, billing is flexible with full self-serve export, though deeper AI features and admin controls require moving to the Business or Enterprise plan.

Why we score it 4.2
  • Real cost4.5
  • Pricing honesty4.5
  • Small-team fit4.0
  • Does the whole job4.0
  • Freedom to leave4.5
  • Track record4.0
  • Real cost: Notion's real bills at the three sizes ($0, $60 and $180 a month) equal exactly the per-seat plan price times seat count, with no usage overage baked into the organize layer's core docs and database use.
  • Pricing honesty: All four plans list per-seat monthly and yearly prices on the pricing page, and the only paid usage add-on, Notion credits for Custom Agents on Business/Enterprise, is priced at $10 per 1,000 credits, though the price of a custom Notion-site domain and Enterprise's quote are not published.
  • Small-team fit: Notion's page-and-database model is widely adopted by non-technical teams for wikis and light project tracking without a developer, though building custom database views, subtasks and dependencies has a learning curve.
  • Does the whole job: Notion covers docs, wikis and lightweight databases with subtasks and dependencies well, but has no native Gantt chart, deep automation engine or time tracking, features dedicated project-management tools include.
  • Freedom to leave: Notion bills month-to-month by default, supports self-serve export of all workspace content as HTML, Markdown or CSV at any time, and simply lets paid features run out at the end of the billing cycle after cancellation.
  • Track record: Notion, founded in 2013, publishes an official status page and lists every plan's per-seat price and yearly discount on its public pricing page.

Scored 27 September 2026 by two independent passes. Notion runs an affiliate program we have joined or may join, so this is the lower of the two scores. How scoring works.

ClickUp

Our score

3.5 / 5

ClickUp is a capable but more complex buy for the organize layer: it replaces more separate tools with deeper project-management features, but usage caps push real bills above the advertised per-seat price at growing team sizes, and its AI add-ons are billed per member regardless of who uses them.

Why we score it 3.5
  • Real cost3.0
  • Pricing honesty3.5
  • Small-team fit3.0
  • Does the whole job4.5
  • Freedom to leave3.5
  • Track record3.0
  • Real cost: For a fifteen-person team the real bill is $285/mo on Business against $150/mo on Unlimited, because Unlimited caps Dashboards, Timeline and Workload views at 100 uses per Workspace that never reset, pushing usage-heavy teams onto the pricier plan.
  • Pricing honesty: ClickUp publishes per-seat plan prices plus its Brain AI, Everything AI and AI Super Credit add-on rates, but Business Plus pricing and a described 'new set of plans that include more ClickUp AI' are shown only inside the app's upgrade flow rather than the public pricing page.
  • Small-team fit: ClickUp packs Automations, Dashboards, Custom Fields, Gantt, Timeline and Workload views and AI add-ons into one workspace, which takes more setup to learn than a simple docs workspace.
  • Does the whole job: ClickUp combines task management, docs, dashboards, time tracking, whiteboards and automations in a single plan, replacing several separate point tools that a docs-only workspace would still need.
  • Freedom to leave: ClickUp bills month-to-month by default and offers self-serve data export, but AI add-ons like Brain AI must be cancelled separately from the base plan and monthly and yearly licenses cannot be mixed in one Workspace.
  • Track record: ClickUp, founded in 2017, is newer to market than longer-established competitors, and its own Help Center describes its standalone AI Notetaker add-on as being in early access with pricing that 'may evolve.'

Scored 27 September 2026 by two independent passes. ClickUp does not pay us, so this is the average of the two. How scoring works.

How we checked this

Notion: Read from Notion's pricing page in a US-locale headless browser: the default view (Pay yearly selected), the page after clicking 'Pay monthly', the billing FAQ answers expanded, and a DOM extract of the plan-comparison table that keeps each cell in its plan column; snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.

Automated re-check on : all 1 prices we re-read were still on Notion's pages.

What we could not verify:
  • Free's exact page/block cap once a workspace has 2 or more members isn't given as a number on the pricing page (it only says 'limited').
  • How many Notion credits the Custom Agents free trial includes, and how many credits a typical agent task uses, isn't stated on the pricing page, so a monthly credit bill can't be estimated.
  • The 'Trial of Notion AI' on Free and Plus has no stated length or usage cap on the pricing page.
  • The price of a custom domain for a Notion site ('Pay per domain') isn't shown on the pricing page.
  • Prices outside a US locale and in currencies other than USD were not checked, although the page has a currency selector.

ClickUp: Read from ClickUp's pricing page in a US-locale headless browser (plan cards, both AI billing toggles, the complete feature list and each FAQ answer) and from ClickUp Help Center articles on pricing, billing, add-ons, AI credits and plan limits; snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.

Automated re-check on : all 6 prices we re-read were still on ClickUp's pages.

What we could not verify:
  • Enterprise pricing is quote-only ('Contact sales').
  • Business Plus, and the 'new set of plans that include more ClickUp AI' that ClickUp's help centre says some Workspaces see, are priced only inside the app's upgrade flow; their prices are not on the public pricing page and were not captured.
  • Prices of the Automation Actions add-on (Business Plus and Enterprise only), the standalone AI Talk to Text add-on and ClickUp Assist (live 1:1 training) are shown only in a Workspace's billing page or not at all on the pages we captured. Whether the standalone AI Notetaker add-on has a fee beyond its hour blocks is not stated.
  • Nonprofit, academic and startup discount amounts are not published.
  • ClickUp's 'Upgrade your plan' help article says Free Forever Workspaces with more than 100 MB of data must upgrade, while the pricing page, the feature list and the 'Workspace storage limits' article say 60MB; this record uses 60MB.
  • Prices were read from a US locale; we did not test whether checkout shows different prices when accessed from other countries.
  • Whether an open seat left by a removed member still counts toward the bill at the next renewal (or is dropped from it) is not stated anywhere in the captured Help Center articles; they only say the seat 'remains open' until a new member fills it.

We re-check every price against the vendor's page each Monday; changes are logged on the changes page. See a price that's wrong? Tell us and we will correct it the same week.

Frequently asked questions

Is Notion or ClickUp cheaper?

It depends on team size, and the answer flips twice. For one person, Notion is free: its Free plan is unlimited in pages and blocks for a single member, for a real bill of $0 a month, while a real ClickUp bill for one person runs $10 a month on the Unlimited plan once you account for Free Forever's 60MB storage cap. At five people, ClickUp is cheaper: $50 a month on Unlimited against $60 a month on Notion's Plus plan. At fifteen people, Notion is cheaper again, at $180 a month on Plus, because ClickUp's Dashboards, Timeline and Workload view limits force that size onto Business at $285 a month. Check your team's size against both real bills before assuming either tool is the cheaper one.

Which is better for project management, Notion or ClickUp?

ClickUp, for dedicated project-tracking views. ClickUp's own free-plan limits confirm it ships Gantt charts, Timeline, Workload views and Dashboards from the start, capped at a fixed number of uses on Free Forever and unlimited from the Unlimited and Business plans; Business adds sprint points and reporting on top. Notion's plans list no comparable dedicated view: its databases support subtasks, dependencies and custom properties, which handle a simple task list or a lightweight roadmap well, but not a Gantt chart or a team-wide workload view. A team that needs to see timelines, dependencies and workload across many people at once fits ClickUp; a team that mainly needs a well-organized wiki with a task database attached fits Notion.

Can I import my Notion workspace into ClickUp?

Yes. ClickUp's help center documents a built-in Notion importer available on every plan: export your Notion workspace as an HTML file with all content included, upload that file into ClickUp, and choose the Space to import into. ClickUp turns the Notion workspace into Lists inside one Folder and turns Notion docs into a single ClickUp Doc with subpages. Some detail does not survive the move: comments, attachments and inline database task comments are dropped, and a Notion wiki does not automatically become a ClickUp wiki, though the imported pages can be converted by hand afterward. There is no equivalent documented importer for moving the other way, from ClickUp into Notion.

Does ClickUp or Notion have better AI features?

Notion bundles more AI into its seat price; ClickUp sells more AI capability as a paid add-on. Notion Agent, AI Meeting Notes and Enterprise Search all come included once a workspace is on the $24-a-month Business plan ($20 billed yearly), with Free and Plus limited to a short, unspecified trial. ClickUp's Brain AI and Everything AI are separate add-ons charged per Workspace member on top of any paid plan, at $14 or $33 a month, and that charge applies to every member, including a seat a removed employee left open. A team that wants AI without a second line item fits Notion's Business plan better; a team that wants ClickUp's specific AI tools, like AI Notetaker or Autopilot Agents, pays for them directly instead.

Is Notion or ClickUp better for a small agency managing multiple clients?

ClickUp usually fits an agency better. Its Spaces, Folders and Lists give each client project its own structure inside one Workspace, and Gantt, Timeline and Workload views make it easier to see deadlines and staff capacity across several accounts at once, features Notion's plans do not list as dedicated views. Cost also favors ClickUp at a typical agency's size: five seats run $50 a month on Unlimited against $60 a month on Notion's Plus plan. Notion still works for an agency that mainly wants a shared knowledge base, client-facing docs or simple checklists rather than deadline-and-workload tracking across projects, and its guests are free and unlimited on every paid plan.

What happens once my team outgrows the free plan on Notion or ClickUp?

Each free plan hits a different kind of ceiling. Notion Free stays unlimited in pages and blocks only for a single member; once a second person joins the workspace, pages and blocks become 'limited' by an amount Notion does not publish, which typically pushes a team onto the $12-a-month Plus plan. ClickUp's Free Forever has no member limit, but it caps total file storage at 60MB per Workspace and gives Custom Fields, Gantt charts, Timeline, Workload and Dashboards a fixed number of one-time uses that never reset once spent, which usually forces a move to the $10-a-month Unlimited plan once a team actually uses the tool day to day.

Do Notion and ClickUp require a long-term contract?

No, and both work similarly here. Every plan on Notion and ClickUp, including their most expensive published tier, bills month-to-month or yearly at your choice, with no forced annual term on either pricing page. The one difference is switching billing cycles: ClickUp does not let a single Workspace mix monthly and yearly licenses, and moving from monthly to yearly billing means contacting support rather than flipping a toggle, with the new term starting at the next renewal. Notion's pricing page states no equivalent restriction on switching its own billing cycle. Neither company's pricing page describes how your content moves out if you cancel, so plan an export before you do.

First published 27 September 2026 · Last updated