CinchStack

The best software stack for a marketing agency

Amber buttons are affiliate links: if you sign up through one, that vendor pays us a commission at no extra cost to you. Plain buttons are not. How we earn.

I am an independent entity from HighLevel. I am not an agent or employee of HighLevel and have no authority to make any binding commitment on behalf of HighLevel.

Quick answer

As of 26 September 2026, GoHighLevel is the strongest anchor for a marketing agency's stack, running $97 a month for a solo consultant with three client sub-accounts included. Add Framer for client websites, SE Ranking for local SEO research, and ClickUp for tracking client work. Once an agency passes three clients, usually by the time it reaches five people, the real GoHighLevel plan is Unlimited at $297 a month, not the $97 Starter plan most guides quote. Skip a separate email or SMS tool and a separate funnel builder: GoHighLevel bills email and SMS as metered usage on top of the plan and already includes the funnel builder in it.

A marketing agency of 1 to 15 people that runs lead generation, funnels, websites, CRM and follow-up on behalf of small-business clients such as local shops, clinics and contractors.

What the whole stack costs

The whole stack's monthly bill at three sizes: one row per layer, using each tool's real-cost scenario for that size, with the total at the bottom.

LayerToolSolo consultant5-person agency15-person agency
RunCRM, funnels and client follow-up GoHighLevel $103.51$2971$2972
SiteClient websites Framer $15$105$255
GrowLocal SEO and lead-gen research SE Ranking $129$149$299
OrganizeClient and project management ClickUp $10$50$285
Total per month$257.51$601$1,136
  1. GoHighLevel (5-person agency): Unlimited ($297), not Starter ($97): Starter caps at 3 client sub-accounts, and a 5-person agency usually runs more clients than that. Metered texts, calls and email are extra either way, at the same per-unit rates.
  2. GoHighLevel (15-person agency): Still Unlimited ($297): it removes Starter's 3-account cap. Agency Pro ($497) adds SaaS mode and marked-up client rebilling, worth it only if you resell HighLevel access under your own brand.

Run: CRM, funnels and client follow-up

Our pick

GoHighLevel

GoHighLevel bundles a CRM, a funnel and website builder, and email and SMS follow-up under one subscription with unlimited users, and its sub-accounts let one login run a separate workspace per client.

5-person agency: $297/mo (Unlimited ($297), not Starter ($97): Starter caps at 3 client sub-accounts, and a 5-person agency usually runs more clients than that. Metered texts, calls and email are extra either way, at the same per-unit rates.)

Visit GoHighLevel
Pick something else when…
  • HubSpot: your clients are large enough to need a shared marketing-and-sales record and a 12-month contract is not a problem
  • Pipedrive: you only need a sales pipeline for the agency's own new business, not marketing automation run on behalf of clients

Site: Client websites

Our pick

Framer

Framer prices a published site lower than Webflow at every size we checked, and the workspace's first editor is always free, so the agency doesn't pay a seat fee just to run the site.

5-person agency: $105/mo · real cost

Visit Framer
Pick something else when…
  • Webflow: a client's site needs a real content blog or finer design control than Framer's templates give you

Grow: Local SEO and lead-gen research

Our pick

SE Ranking

SE Ranking prices its plans by project, one project per client site, and its Local Marketing tools track Google Business Profile rankings by location, which is what small-business lead generation runs on.

5-person agency: $149/mo · real cost

Visit SE Ranking
Pick something else when…
  • Semrush: you also sell content, social or paid-ads services and want those toolkits under the same login
  • Ahrefs: a client specifically wants Ahrefs' own crawler-based backlink research rather than rank tracking alone

Organize: Client and project management

Our pick

ClickUp

ClickUp tracks deadlines and deliverables per client and includes guest seats that scale with your paid seats, so a client can see task status without you buying them a seat.

5-person agency: $50/mo · real cost

Visit ClickUp
Pick something else when…
  • Notion: you mainly need shared docs and SOPs, not Gantt charts or task automations

Free tools we would add

  • Google Business Profile: Free local listing for every client location, and the base input for SE Ranking's Local Marketing tools.
  • Google Search Console: Free indexing and search-performance data for each client site, alongside the paid SEO research tool.

What to skip

  • A separate email or SMS marketing tool. GoHighLevel already bills email and SMS campaigns as usage on top of the plan price; adding Mailchimp or Klaviyo on top means paying for the same follow-up twice.
  • A separate invoicing or payments tool. GoHighLevel's plan already includes payments and invoicing, so billing a client through a stand-alone tool means paying for the same job twice.
  • Semrush or Ahrefs running alongside SE Ranking. All three track rankings and audit sites, so running two at once is duplicate spend for a small agency. Add a second one only when a specific client needs backlink depth or a toolkit SE Ranking does not sell.

What does a lead-gen agency actually need running for clients?

A marketing agency selling lead generation, funnels, websites, CRM and follow-up to small-business clients needs four things running at once, whether it is one consultant or a team of fifteen: a system that captures a lead and follows up with it automatically, a place to publish each client’s own website, a way to find and prove the SEO work a client is paying for, and somewhere to track which deliverable is due for which client this week. GoHighLevel covers the Run layer almost entirely: its CRM, funnel builder and email and SMS follow-up sit inside one subscription, and invoicing a client is built in too, so a separate payment tool never becomes a fifth line item on this stack. Client websites are still a separate purchase, in the Site layer, because GoHighLevel’s own page builder is built for funnels and landing pages, not the content-heavy business site a local search plan depends on. SE Ranking and ClickUp fill the Grow and Organize layers: one to find and report the SEO work clients are paying for, the other to keep a growing team from losing track of which client’s campaign is due Friday.

Where most advice gets this wrong

Most stack round-ups for agencies quote GoHighLevel at $97 a month and stop there, because that is the number on the pricing page. It is the right number for a solo consultant with one or two clients: Starter includes three sub-accounts, GoHighLevel’s term for a separate client workspace, plus unlimited users and contacts besides. It stops being the right number the moment a real agency signs a fourth client, because Starter’s three-sub-account cap is hard: the next plan up, Unlimited, costs $297 a month, three times Starter’s price, before a single extra text or email is added. A five-person agency running four or five retainer clients is already past that line, so the honest small-team number for this stack is $601 a month, not the solo figure most quick comparisons quote. The pricing page never states this as a warning; it only shows the cap in a features table most buyers skim past. Budget for Unlimited from the client that breaks three, not from the size of your team.

Why a cheaper website tool beats the familiar names here

Squarespace and Wix are the names most people reach for first: Squarespace’s Basic plan runs $25 a month and Wix’s Light plan runs $17 a month, its only published rate. Neither is built for an agency managing several client sites, though: both bill and log in per site, so five clients mean five separate subscriptions and five separate passwords with no shared agency view across them. Squarespace’s Basic plan can’t even add a third contributor without upgrading, and Wix doesn’t publish a month-to-month price for any tier, so comparing either against the picks below means comparing against an annual, paid-upfront number by default. Framer and Webflow both solve the multi-site problem with a workspace layer priced separately from each site: Framer keeps the workspace’s first editor free on every site, while Webflow’s Agency Workspace goes further and gives each client its own free reviewer seat, three per site, instead of a paid editor seat. Framer’s Basic site plan runs $15 a month, cheap enough that a fourth or fifth client site does not reshape the agency’s margin the way $39 a month per site on Webflow’s Premium plan can. Webflow earns its higher price on sites that outgrow a template: its CMS holds far more content, and its bandwidth scales to real traffic instead of Framer’s fixed 50 GB cap on the Basic plan. For a bare-bones five-page site for a plumber or a dentist, that headroom is not what the client is paying for.

Is SE Ranking really enough, or do you need Semrush too?

SE Ranking’s Core plan tracks up to ten projects for $129 a month, and because it prices by project rather than by keyword volume alone, ten client sites fit under one login before the agency needs to add a second manager seat. Semrush and Ahrefs both do more: Semrush’s toolkit stretches into content, social and paid-ads reporting an agency can resell as its own service, and Ahrefs built its own web crawler for backlink and keyword research, the reason a client would ask for it by name. Both cost more for the same client count, though. A five-person agency running the standard load for this stack pays $149 a month on SE Ranking against $379 on Semrush and $309 on Ahrefs, for SEO depth neither the local dentist nor the plumber client is likely to ask about; SE Ranking and Semrush update tracked keywords daily, while Ahrefs updates weekly on every plan. The honest reason to pay more is a specific client need, backlinks, content briefs, ad intelligence, not a bigger name on the login screen.

What do you actually buy in month one, and what waits?

Start with GoHighLevel’s Starter plan, Framer’s Basic site plan, SE Ranking’s Core plan and ClickUp’s Unlimited plan: that combination runs a single consultant’s whole client operation for $257.51 a month. The first upgrade to plan for, not to buy yet, is GoHighLevel’s Unlimited plan, and the trigger is a fourth client, not a fixed date on a calendar. Framer is the one exception worth timing rather than waiting on: its Basic plan is fixed with no pay-as-you-go option, so the moment a client’s site needs a third content collection or more than thirty pages, the honest move is straight to Pro rather than trying to make Basic stretch. The next upgrade is ClickUp’s Business plan, worth it once Dashboards, Timeline and Workload views are something the team opens every day rather than a nice-to-have; Unlimited’s own 100-use caps on those views make that decision for you once they run out. Site and SEO spending then scale the other way, per client rather than per team member, so the real planning question before signing a sixth or tenth client is whether that client’s retainer covers its own Framer site and its own SE Ranking project, not whether the agency’s overall software budget feels big enough yet.

How we checked this

GoHighLevel: Read from HighLevel's pricing page (monthly, annual and Enterprise views), 18 help-centre billing articles plus one CSV rate attachment, and the Terms of Service in a US-locale headless browser; snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.

Automated re-check on : all 38 prices we re-read were still on GoHighLevel's pages.

What we could not verify:
  • Whether the 14-day trial requires a card up front: the signup form asks for business details first and its 'Trial Details' step was not reached. The pricing page says billing starts automatically when the trial ends unless canceled.
  • The 5% pass-through markup on A2P and carrier fees: the markup article (9 Sep 2026) says it applies whether or not rebilling is enabled and the Phone System guide (24 Sep 2026) says it 'always applies', but the same guide also says 'only when re-billing is enabled' and the A2P fee article says HighLevel adds no markup. The scenarios include it; without it they fall by $0.12 (solo), $0.30 (small) and $1.20 (growing).
  • The Phone System guide lists A2P monthly fees with the 5% built in (Sole Proprietor 'up to $2.10', Low Volume '$1.50-$10.50', High Volume '$10.50'), while the A2P article lists $2.00 / $1.50 / $10.00. The scenarios use the A2P article's $1.50.
  • Carrier fees depend on each recipient's carrier; the scenarios assume $0.0045 per outbound segment for every text.
  • Pay-per-use Conversation AI and Voice AI cost per conversation depends on token counts and cannot be priced in advance; only the per-token and per-minute rates are recorded.
  • The per-message price for US WhatsApp service messages beyond the free 1,000 a month from 1 October 2026 appears only in an attached CSV ($0.0034 before the 5% fee), not in the guide's table.
  • HighLevel's pricing pages list no platform fee on payments taken through Stripe, PayPal, Square and other connected processors, but processor fees were not captured.
  • Domain purchase prices vary by TLD and were not captured.
  • Whether a dedicated email sending domain costs anything: the setup article lists no fee, but does not say it is free.
  • The $27/month Pause Plan is mentioned in HighLevel's billing FAQ, which also says agency accounts cannot be paused.
  • Enterprise pricing is quote-only.
  • HighLevel's in-app Wallet Pricing page (the source it calls authoritative for usage rates) requires a login and was not captured.

Framer: Read Framer's pricing page in a US-locale headless browser with the Yearly-billing toggle in both states, with the Compare-plans table's checkmark/dash icons converted to text markers, and with every AI-credit-tier dropdown option on the Basic and Pro cards selected in turn in both billing states; checked price consistency across 5 browser locale/timezone settings from one US IP; and read Framer's Help Center articles on site plans, best use cases per plan, changing billing cycle, the new (May 2026) billing system, legacy plans, member roles, refund policy, subscriptions and charges, bandwidth usage, and counting billed editors. All 19 snapshots were captured in an earlier pass and reused as-is; no new snapshots were needed. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.

These prices appear only after choosing options on the vendor's page, so they are re-checked by hand rather than automatically.

What we could not verify:
  • Pro's own (non-add-on) static-file limit isn't shown as a distinct number on the pricing table: Basic shows 50 and Enterprise shows 'Custom', but Pro's cell is blank. The pricing FAQ says the Advanced Hosting add-on raises the cap to 500 files, but doesn't state Pro's base allowance without that add-on.
  • Whether the Enterprise plan includes Site redirects, Staging environment, Branching with previews, and Roles and permissions as distinctly available features: the icon-replacement capture shows checkmarks for Basic and Pro on those four rows but no icon at all (neither checkmark nor dash) in the Enterprise column.
  • The exact monthly bandwidth (in GB) a ~250,000-visit/month site would use, and therefore the size of any Pro bandwidth-overage charge at that traffic level -- Framer's bandwidth help article explains what drives usage but doesn't publish a bytes-per-visit or visits-per-GB conversion figure.
  • Whether Framer's listed USD prices vary by IP-detected country/region: only 5 browser locale/timezone settings from a single US IP address were tested (all showed identical figures); true cross-country IP-based pricing was not tested.
  • Whether the Convert add-on's $50/$60-per-500,000-events charge is a flat block price or is prorated below 500,000 events -- the FAQ only says billing is based on the number of events generated each month.
  • The dollar value of the 'Pro Experts save 50% on agent credits' and 'Pro Experts get free editor access on any client project' partner-program perks -- no separate published price exists for the Pro Experts program itself.

SE Ranking: Read from SE Ranking's pricing/subscription page (Monthly and Annually toggle states, and the expanded 'Compare plans' table under both toggle states) plus SE Ranking Help Center articles on users, seats, keyword purchases, billing, trial limits, the AI Search Add-on, the Agency Pack and Local Marketing plans, in a US-locale headless browser; snapshots saved. Also checked the German-locale pricing page to confirm the USD list price does not vary by locale. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.

Automated re-check on : all 8 prices we re-read were still on SE Ranking's pages.

What we could not verify:
  • The Compare plans table shows 'Extra Manager Seats: from $16' for both Core and Growth, unchanged whether the page's Monthly or Annually toggle is selected — this conflicts with SE Ranking's own Users FAQ, which states extra seats cost $20/month per user. We used the $20/month figure (the explicit, unambiguous statement) for the extra-manager-seat add-on; whether $16 is an annual-commitment rate, a different SKU, or which figure a live checkout actually charges was not resolved.
  • 'Extra keywords: from $22.40' (Core) and 'from $32' (Growth) on the Compare plans table are 'starting from' prices for the smallest purchasable keyword block; like the seat add-on, this figure did not change between the page's Monthly and Annually toggle states, and no price for larger keyword blocks is published anywhere we captured.
  • SE Ranking's pricing page lists the Agency Pack with '30 projects, 30 client seats', while its own Agency Pack Help Center article describes Client Seats as 'Invite up to 10 specialists.' We could not confirm which figure is current.
  • Enterprise has no published list price, seat count or keyword allowance; the 'up to 5 seats' and 5,000-keyword purchase block figures come only from Help Center articles that group Enterprise with Core/Growth, not from the pricing or Compare-plans page itself.
  • Legacy Essential, Pro and Business plans (retired for new subscribers after SE Ranking's October 2024 pricing overhaul) have no current published prices anywhere on the site; only their seat counts (1/3/5) and keyword-purchase blocks (100/500/1000) survive in Help Center articles for existing subscribers. No price for these legacy plans is recorded because none is published.

ClickUp: Read from ClickUp's pricing page in a US-locale headless browser (plan cards, both AI billing toggles, the complete feature list and each FAQ answer) and from ClickUp Help Center articles on pricing, billing, add-ons, AI credits and plan limits; snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.

Automated re-check on : all 6 prices we re-read were still on ClickUp's pages.

What we could not verify:
  • Enterprise pricing is quote-only ('Contact sales').
  • Business Plus, and the 'new set of plans that include more ClickUp AI' that ClickUp's help centre says some Workspaces see, are priced only inside the app's upgrade flow; their prices are not on the public pricing page and were not captured.
  • Prices of the Automation Actions add-on (Business Plus and Enterprise only), the standalone AI Talk to Text add-on and ClickUp Assist (live 1:1 training) are shown only in a Workspace's billing page or not at all on the pages we captured. Whether the standalone AI Notetaker add-on has a fee beyond its hour blocks is not stated.
  • Nonprofit, academic and startup discount amounts are not published.
  • ClickUp's 'Upgrade your plan' help article says Free Forever Workspaces with more than 100 MB of data must upgrade, while the pricing page, the feature list and the 'Workspace storage limits' article say 60MB; this record uses 60MB.
  • Prices were read from a US locale; we did not test whether checkout shows different prices when accessed from other countries.
  • Whether an open seat left by a removed member still counts toward the bill at the next renewal (or is dropped from it) is not stated anywhere in the captured Help Center articles; they only say the seat 'remains open' until a new member fills it.

We re-check every price against the vendor's page each Monday; changes are logged on the changes page. See a price that's wrong? Tell us and we will correct it the same week.

Frequently asked questions

What's the best CRM for a marketing agency managing multiple clients?

GoHighLevel, for most agencies running lead generation and follow-up for small-business clients. Its Starter plan costs $97 a month and includes three client sub-accounts, HighLevel's term for a separate CRM and funnel workspace per client, plus unlimited users and contacts. The catch most guides skip: that three-sub-account cap is hard, so an agency running four or more clients needs the Unlimited plan at $297 a month instead, which removes the cap and lets client usage be rebilled at cost. HubSpot is the main alternative, but it has no comparable sub-account structure, so each client would need its own separate HubSpot subscription rather than one shared login. Pipedrive is worth checking only if the agency needs a sales pipeline for its own new business, not marketing automation run for clients.

How much does a software stack cost for a small marketing agency?

It depends on team size, because each layer's bill scales differently. A solo consultant running GoHighLevel's Starter plan, Framer's Basic site plan, SE Ranking's Core plan and ClickUp's Unlimited plan pays about $257.51 a month combined. A 5-person agency's real bill rises to about $601 a month, mostly because GoHighLevel needs its Unlimited plan once client sub-accounts pass three, not because the other tools jump. A 15-person agency's combined bill reaches about $1,136 a month, split across the same four tools at their next-size plans. Website and SEO costs in that total assume one client site and one tracked project; an agency running several client sites or SEO projects should multiply the Site and Grow layers by how many clients it actually serves, not by its own headcount.

Is GoHighLevel worth it for a one-person agency?

Yes, for most solo consultants doing lead generation and follow-up for a small handful of clients. GoHighLevel's Starter plan costs $97 a month and includes a CRM, a funnel and website builder, calendars, and email and SMS follow-up, all with unlimited users and contacts, plus three client sub-accounts, enough for a consultant just starting out. The real monthly bill, once typical texting and email usage is added, runs closer to $103.51 a month rather than the bare plan price, because texts, calls and email are metered on top of every plan. The main reason to look elsewhere at this size is heavy texting or AI use: both are billed from a prepaid wallet with forced auto-recharge, so a consultant who expects very light usage may prefer HubSpot's free tools instead, though HubSpot doesn't sell marketing SMS below its $890-a-month Professional plan.

What website builder should an agency use for client sites?

Framer, for most agencies building sites for small-business clients. Its Basic plan costs $15 a month per published site, and the workspace's first editor is always free, so running the site costs no extra seat fee. Webflow is the better pick once a client's site needs a real CMS blog or heavier design control, and its Agency Workspace gives each client its own free reviewer seat instead of a paid editor seat: its Premium plan costs $39 a month per site and holds far more content than Framer's Basic tier, though its bandwidth pricing can push a high-traffic site's bill much higher. Squarespace and Wix are not a good fit for an agency running several client sites: both bill and log in per site with no shared agency-wide view, so managing five clients means five separate subscriptions rather than one workspace. Pick Framer by default and reserve Webflow for the client whose site has outgrown a template.

Do I need Semrush for a marketing agency, or is there something cheaper?

Not necessarily. SE Ranking is the cheaper fit for an agency doing SEO and local lead generation for small-business clients: its Core plan costs $129 a month and tracks up to ten client projects under one login, plus Local Marketing tools for tracking Google Business Profile rankings by location. A 5-person agency's real SE Ranking bill runs about $149 a month, against $379 a month for the same team on Semrush's Pro+ plan. Semrush earns its higher price when an agency also resells content, social or paid-ads reporting as its own service, since those toolkits sit under the same Semrush login; Ahrefs is worth the extra cost mainly when a client specifically wants Ahrefs' own crawler-based backlink research. For an agency whose clients mostly want to rank locally and see proof of the work, SE Ranking's project-based pricing fits the job without paying for toolkits most small-business clients never ask about.

Do I need a separate email marketing tool if I already have GoHighLevel?

No, not for most agencies. GoHighLevel already includes email and SMS campaigns and workflow automation in every plan, starting at $97 a month, billed as metered usage per message rather than a separate subscription. Adding Klaviyo or Mailchimp on top means paying for the same follow-up job twice, once as GoHighLevel's usage charges and once as a second subscription. The exception is a client already locked into a specific email platform for reasons outside the agency's control, such as an existing Klaviyo integration tied to a Shopify store; running that one client's email through GoHighLevel anyway would mean rebuilding integrations that already work. Outside that kind of exception, GoHighLevel's built-in email and SMS cover the follow-up layer this stack needs without an added tool.

What project management tool should a marketing agency use for client work?

ClickUp, for most agencies tracking deliverables across several clients at once. Its Unlimited plan costs $10 per seat a month and removes Free Forever's tiny storage cap, and its permission-controlled guest seats scale with the team, so clients can see task status without the agency buying them a paid seat. A 5-person agency's real ClickUp bill runs about $50 a month; a 15-person agency needs the $19-per-seat Business plan instead, because Unlimited caps dashboards, timelines and workload views at a fixed number of uses that never resets, a limit a growing agency with several client dashboards will hit. Notion is the better pick if the real need is shared docs, SOPs and a wiki rather than Gantt charts and task automations; its Plus plan costs $12 per seat a month and is enough for that job well past fifteen people.

First published 27 September 2026 · Last updated