GoHighLevel vs HubSpot
Amber buttons are affiliate links: if you sign up through one, that vendor pays us a commission at no extra cost to you. Plain buttons are not. How we earn.
I am an independent entity from HighLevel. I am not an agent or employee of HighLevel and have no authority to make any binding commitment on behalf of HighLevel.
As of 26 September 2026, GoHighLevel's Starter plan costs $97 a month with unlimited users and contacts, while HubSpot's Marketing Hub Starter costs $20 a seat a month and Marketing Hub Professional starts at $890 a month plus a required $3,000 onboarding fee. GoHighLevel suits an agency or local-service business that wants a CRM, funnels and native texting under one flat-plus-usage bill. HubSpot suits a SaaS startup or agency that needs marketing, sales and service sharing one CRM record and does not mind paying per seat and per contact tier. Pick GoHighLevel to text leads without upgrading; pick HubSpot for that shared record across teams.
Which should you pick?
Which one we would pick for each kind of business, and the one-line reason.
| If you run a… | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Marketing agency | GoHighLevel | GoHighLevel's sub-accounts let an agency run each client as its own workspace under one subscription, while HubSpot has no comparable sub-account system, so managing several clients on HubSpot would mean a separate subscription for each one. |
| Coach or course creator | Neither | GoHighLevel's courses feature and HubSpot's content tools are both add-ons bolted onto a CRM, not a dedicated course platform, so a course creator is better served by a tool built around cohorts, lessons and student progress. |
| Online store | Neither | Neither tool is an ecommerce platform; a Shopify store needs a shopping cart, product catalog and checkout, not a CRM or a marketing hub. |
| Local service business | GoHighLevel | GoHighLevel bundles a CRM, booking calendar, review requests and SMS follow-up that a clinic, contractor or salon runs every day in one flat-plus-usage bill, while HubSpot is built as marketing-and-sales software rather than a front-desk system for appointments and reviews. |
| Freelancer or consultant | HubSpot | A freelancer with a short contact list can run HubSpot's free tools at $0 with no usage wallet to fund, while GoHighLevel's cheapest plan starts at $97 a month for sub-account and phone-system features a solo operator will not use. |
| Early-stage SaaS | HubSpot | HubSpot's Marketing Hub fits a SaaS startup building a sales-and-marketing motion from scratch, with lead scoring and workflows suited to a product-led sales cycle that GoHighLevel's agency-first, sub-account design is not built around. |
What each one really costs
The real monthly bill for GoHighLevel and HubSpot at three business sizes, using the same assumptions for both, as of 26 September 2026. Open either pricing page for every line of each bill.
| Size | GoHighLevel | HubSpot | Cheaper |
|---|---|---|---|
| SoloSolo operator, 1,000 contacts, 200 texts a month | $103.51medium confidence | $20high confidence | HubSpot, by $83.51/mo |
| Small teamSmall team, 3 users, 5,000 contacts, 1,000 texts a month | $125.42medium confidence | $1,100medium confidence | GoHighLevel, by $974.58/mo |
| Growing teamGrowing team, 8 users, 25,000 contacts, 5,000 texts a month | $228.20medium confidence | $2,262.50medium confidence | GoHighLevel, by $2,034.30/mo |
GoHighLevel and HubSpot side by side
GoHighLevel and HubSpot side by side on the things that decide the choice for a small business, with our call on which has the edge on each.
| What matters | GoHighLevel | HubSpot | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest way to start | $97 a month (Starter); no free plan, only a 14-day trial | $0 on the free tools (2 users, 1,000 contacts); $20 a seat a month on Starter | HubSpot |
| How texting is sold | Included on every plan, billed per segment plus a carrier fee as you send | Not sold on the free tools or Starter; a $75-a-month add-on on Professional or Enterprise only, U.S. numbers only | GoHighLevel |
| Onboarding fee | None on any plan | $3,000 one-time on Professional; $7,000 one-time on Enterprise, charged automatically on purchase | GoHighLevel |
| Minimum contract | Month-to-month on every plan; annual billing is optional | Starter is month-to-month; Professional requires a 12-month commitment; Enterprise is annual only | GoHighLevel |
| Users and contacts | Unlimited users and unlimited contacts on every plan, including Starter | Free tools cap at 2 users and 1,000 contacts; paid seats cost $20-$75 each and contacts bill in tiers that step up as the list grows | GoHighLevel |
| Multi-client structure for agencies | Built-in sub-accounts: 3 on Starter, unlimited on Unlimited and Agency Pro | No sub-account system; each client would need its own separate subscription | GoHighLevel |
| Website and funnel builder | Website, funnel and landing-page builder included on every plan | Landing pages included; no funnel builder | GoHighLevel |
| One record across marketing, sales and service | CRM and pipelines built in, but no separate sales or service hub | Marketing, sales, service and content hubs all read and write the same Smart CRM record | HubSpot |
| Pricing transparency | Plan and add-on prices are public, but usage rates sit across many help-center articles that do not always agree with each other | List prices, contact tiers, add-ons and limits published in one Product & Services Catalog, plus a public price calculator | HubSpot |
| AI features | Metered per token or per minute, or a flat $50 or $97 per-location AI Employee add-on | HubSpot Credits included per tier; extra credits cost $0.01 each | Tie |
Where does GoHighLevel actually win?
GoHighLevel wins on two things a small business feels immediately: seats and texting. Every plan, from $97 a month on Starter, includes unlimited users and unlimited contacts, so hiring staff or growing a list never forces an upgrade the way per-seat pricing does. HubSpot, by contrast, charges per seat from the first user and bills marketing contacts in tiers that step up as a list grows. Texting shows the gap more clearly. GoHighLevel bills SMS by the segment on every plan, once a one-time $22.50 A2P 10DLC registration is done; HubSpot doesn’t sell marketing SMS below Marketing Hub Professional, at $890 a month, and only to U.S. numbers. For a business built around client accounts, GoHighLevel’s sub-accounts are the other clear win: Starter includes three, and $297 a month removes that cap entirely, while HubSpot has no comparable structure for running several clients’ contacts under one login.
Where does HubSpot actually win?
HubSpot’s advantage is structural, not a line item. Marketing, sales, service and content tools all write to the same Smart CRM record, so a contact who fills out a form shows up as a lead without anyone exporting a list between tools; GoHighLevel has a CRM too, but not the separate sales and service hubs that record spans. HubSpot also publishes its whole cost structure in a public Product & Services Catalog, and its price calculator totals a first year’s cost, onboarding fee included, before a sales call — a level of published detail GoHighLevel’s own help center doesn’t match, where GoHighLevel’s own articles on its 5% phone pass-through markup actually contradict each other. And HubSpot’s free tools genuinely cost $0 for up to 2 users and 1,000 contacts, with non-marketing contacts stored free up to 15 million total, so a large historical list doesn’t inflate the bill the way active marketing contacts do.
How does the bill diverge as a team grows from one person to fifteen?
The gap is small at the solo size and wide by the time a team hits fifteen people. A solo operator’s GoHighLevel bill runs $103.51 a month, mostly the Starter plan itself; the same-size HubSpot bill runs $20 a month on one Marketing Hub Starter seat, covering a short list with no texting. At a small team’s size, GoHighLevel’s real bill is $125.42 a month, still on Starter, because usage is the only thing that moved. HubSpot’s small-team bill jumps to $1,100 a month, but only because that team wants to text: the SMS add-on forces Marketing Hub Professional, and its 12-month commitment and onboarding fee come along with it. Skip the SMS requirement and HubSpot’s own price calculator prices the same three seats and contact count on Starter for a small fraction of that. The pattern holds at the growing size: GoHighLevel’s usage-driven bill reaches $228.20 a month, while HubSpot’s Professional bill for the same team, still with SMS, reaches $2,262.50 a month. GoHighLevel’s bill grows with how much a team actually sends; HubSpot’s grows in jumps, at the point a tier or a feature forces a new plan.
What does it cost to change your mind later?
Leaving GoHighLevel is simple to time and cheap to delay: every plan cancels from the dashboard whenever you want, but HighLevel’s terms forfeit any unused wallet balance 30 days after cancellation, and a canceled account’s data is deleted after 90 days, so timing the last top-up matters more than the cancellation itself. Leaving HubSpot’s Professional or Enterprise tier is a bigger decision up front, not after: the 12-month commitment means there’s no cancel-anytime option once you sign, prepaid fees aren’t refunded, and the $3,000 (or $7,000 on Enterprise) onboarding fee already paid buys nothing back if you leave early. Growing past a plan is its own kind of lock-in on HubSpot’s side too: cross a marketing-contact tier and HubSpot bills the higher tier immediately, and you can’t drop back down until the contract renews even if your list shrinks again. Neither vendor’s pricing pages describe how contacts or content actually move out if you switch, so that homework happens before you cancel either one, not after.
Where most advice gets this wrong
Most comparisons frame this matchup as $97 versus $20 and call GoHighLevel the pricier option. That framing skips two things. First, HubSpot’s real entry price is $0, not $20: the free tools cover 2 users and 1,000 contacts, so the honest floor-to-floor comparison is GoHighLevel’s $97 against HubSpot’s $0, not against Starter. Second, and more useful, sticker price isn’t what actually decides this comparison for most buyers — texting is. A business that never plans to text leads pays less on HubSpot’s free tools or Starter than on GoHighLevel’s $97 floor, full stop. A business that does plan to text pays a metered, usually small, amount on GoHighLevel from day one, but on HubSpot it pays for an entire Marketing Hub Professional plan, a 12-month commitment and a $3,000 onboarding fee just to unlock a $75-a-month add-on. Comparisons that lead with the base-plan price bury that fork; the one question worth asking first is whether the business will ever send a marketing text, not which plan number looks smaller.
Who should choose which one?
The verdicts above cover six business types, but two are worth explaining rather than just marking “neither.” A course creator gets GoHighLevel’s courses feature bolted onto a CRM, not a real course platform, and HubSpot has no course feature at all, so Kajabi or Systeme.io fits better than either one. A Shopify store needs a shopping cart and checkout, which neither tool provides at all; that business should start from an ecommerce platform, not this comparison. Among the businesses where one of the two actually fits, the split comes down to structure more than budget: an agency or local-service business running client accounts and wanting native texting fits GoHighLevel’s sub-accounts and usage pricing, while a SaaS startup or agency building a single sales-and-marketing motion on one CRM record, and willing to pay per seat and per contact tier for it, fits HubSpot instead. A freelancer with a short list and no texting need can start on HubSpot’s free tools at no cost and reconsider only once a real need, texting, client accounts, or a bigger list, shows up.
How we score them
GoHighLevel
3.2 / 5
GoHighLevel packs CRM, funnels, and marketing automation into one subscription that can replace several tools, but nearly every communication feature is billed separately from a prepaid wallet with non-refundable fees and internally contradictory billing documentation, making the real bill hard for a non-technical small-business owner to predict or budget.
Why we score it 3.2
- Real cost2.5
- Pricing honesty3.5
- Small-team fit2.0
- Does the whole job4.5
- Freedom to leave3.0
- Track record2.5
- Real cost: For a fifteen-person team, usage charges (about $131 of the $228.20 total) exceed the $97 Starter plan itself, and per-segment SMS, per-minute call, and per-token AI rates make the total hard to predict in advance.
- Pricing honesty: Plan prices, add-ons, and most usage rates are published on the pricing page and help center, but the in-app Wallet Pricing page requires a login and HighLevel's own articles contradict each other on when the 5% phone pass-through markup applies.
- Small-team fit: The platform bundles funnels, workflows, a phone system and AI features around an agency sub-account model, and it is not built for teams that just want a simple CRM without setting up funnels and automations.
- Does the whole job: A single subscription combines CRM and pipelines, a website/funnel builder, calendars, email/SMS marketing, workflow automation, reviews, courses, and communities, covering more ground than a typical standalone CRM.
- Freedom to leave: Billing is month-to-month with no long-term contract and cancellation is self-serve from the dashboard, but the Terms state all fees are non-refundable and canceled accounts' data is deleted after 90 days.
- Track record: HighLevel LLC is a comparatively young vendor, and its own billing help articles conflict with each other on core usage-fee policy, such as when the 5% phone pass-through markup applies.
Scored 27 September 2026 by two independent passes. GoHighLevel pays us a commission, so this is the lower of the two scores. How scoring works.
HubSpot
3.3 / 5
HubSpot's free tier and Starter plan are genuinely useful and honestly priced for a very small business, but growing past Starter's automation limits brings a mandatory onboarding fee, a 12-month lock-in, and a bill that can multiply well beyond the plan sticker once contacts, seats, and SMS are added.
Why we score it 3.3
- Real cost2.0
- Pricing honesty4.0
- Small-team fit3.0
- Does the whole job4.0
- Freedom to leave2.5
- Track record4.0
- Real cost: The bill can run several times the plan sticker once marketing contacts, extra seats, and the SMS add-on stack up, and Professional or Enterprise also carries a mandatory one-time onboarding fee of $3,000 or $7,000 on top of the subscription.
- Pricing honesty: HubSpot publishes a full Product & Services Catalog with per-seat prices, contact-tier rates, and add-on costs, and its public price calculator shows a first-year total, onboarding included, before any sales call.
- Small-team fit: The free tools and Starter plan are simple to self-serve, but Starter caps email automation at 10 automated actions, so reaching multi-step automation pushes a team into Professional's required onboarding and 12-month commitment.
- Does the whole job: Marketing Hub runs on the same Smart CRM database as HubSpot's sales, service, content, and data hubs, letting a business consolidate several functions under one shared contact record.
- Freedom to leave: Starter can be paid and cancelled month to month, but Professional requires a 12-month commitment with no cancellation or downgrade mid-term and prepaid fees are non-refundable.
- Track record: HubSpot has been publicly traded since 2014 and publishes a full product catalog, though its 2024 move to seat-based pricing changed how new customers pay for users.
Scored 27 September 2026 by two independent passes. HubSpot runs an affiliate program we have joined or may join, so this is the lower of the two scores. How scoring works.
How we checked this
GoHighLevel: Read from HighLevel's pricing page (monthly, annual and Enterprise views), 18 help-centre billing articles plus one CSV rate attachment, and the Terms of Service in a US-locale headless browser; snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.
- HighLevel pricing page (monthly view, add-ons, FAQ) — read 26 September 2026
- HighLevel pricing page (annual toggle) — read 26 September 2026
- HighLevel pricing page (Enterprise plan details) — read 26 September 2026
- HighLevel Pricing Guide (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- AI Product Pricing (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- Phone System Pricing & Billing Guide (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- Understanding the 5% Markup on Phone System Pass-Through Charges (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- A2P 10DLC Messaging Fees (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- What is LC Email? (pricing and sending limits, help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- WhatsApp Pricing, Billing, and Rebilling Guide (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- WhatsApp Pricing - October 2026 CSV (attachment to the WhatsApp guide) — read 26 September 2026
- Rebilling, Reselling, and Wallets Explained (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- Activate SaaS Mode and Configure Phone Rebilling (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- Email Re-Billing on the Unlimited and Pro Plans (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- How to enable and rebill Premium Features for Workflows (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- Workflows Pro Plan - New Pricing Tiers (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- What is a Dedicated IP? (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- Dedicated Email Sending Domains Overview & Setup (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- Billing Related Questions for Agencies (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- HighLevel API: access by plan level (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- Wallet Auto Recharge and Smart Adjustment Settings (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- Wallet Pricing Page (help centre) — read 26 September 2026
- HighLevel Terms of Service (last updated June 2026) — read 26 September 2026
Automated re-check on : all 38 prices we re-read were still on GoHighLevel's pages.
- Whether the 14-day trial requires a card up front: the signup form asks for business details first and its 'Trial Details' step was not reached. The pricing page says billing starts automatically when the trial ends unless canceled.
- The 5% pass-through markup on A2P and carrier fees: the markup article (9 Sep 2026) says it applies whether or not rebilling is enabled and the Phone System guide (24 Sep 2026) says it 'always applies', but the same guide also says 'only when re-billing is enabled' and the A2P fee article says HighLevel adds no markup. The scenarios include it; without it they fall by $0.12 (solo), $0.30 (small) and $1.20 (growing).
- The Phone System guide lists A2P monthly fees with the 5% built in (Sole Proprietor 'up to $2.10', Low Volume '$1.50-$10.50', High Volume '$10.50'), while the A2P article lists $2.00 / $1.50 / $10.00. The scenarios use the A2P article's $1.50.
- Carrier fees depend on each recipient's carrier; the scenarios assume $0.0045 per outbound segment for every text.
- Pay-per-use Conversation AI and Voice AI cost per conversation depends on token counts and cannot be priced in advance; only the per-token and per-minute rates are recorded.
- The per-message price for US WhatsApp service messages beyond the free 1,000 a month from 1 October 2026 appears only in an attached CSV ($0.0034 before the 5% fee), not in the guide's table.
- HighLevel's pricing pages list no platform fee on payments taken through Stripe, PayPal, Square and other connected processors, but processor fees were not captured.
- Domain purchase prices vary by TLD and were not captured.
- Whether a dedicated email sending domain costs anything: the setup article lists no fee, but does not say it is free.
- The $27/month Pause Plan is mentioned in HighLevel's billing FAQ, which also says agency accounts cannot be paused.
- Enterprise pricing is quote-only.
- HighLevel's in-app Wallet Pricing page (the source it calls authoritative for usage rates) requires a login and was not captured.
HubSpot: Read from HubSpot's Marketing Hub pricing page (both billing toggles and the FAQ), its Create a Bundle price calculator set to each scenario, the Product & Services Catalog and the Customer Terms of Service in a US-locale headless browser; snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD; HubSpot's pricing page has a currency picker that shows local-currency prices: for example Marketing Hub Enterprise is €3,300/month in EUR and ₹300,000/month in INR against $3,600 in USD, and Professional onboarding is €2,930 or ₹250,000. We publish U.S. list prices in USD. Marketing SMS add-ons are sold to U.S. customers only.
- Marketing Hub pricing page (default Pay Annually view) — read 26 September 2026
- Marketing Hub pricing page, Pay Monthly selected — read 26 September 2026
- Marketing Hub pricing page FAQ answers (contacts, send limits, seats, credits, onboarding) — read 26 September 2026
- HubSpot Product & Services Catalog (list prices, contact tiers, add-ons, limits, onboarding) — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Starter, 1 seat, 1,000 contacts, billed monthly — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Starter, 1 seat, 1,000 contacts, billed annually — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Starter, 3 seats, 5,000 contacts, billed monthly — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Starter, 3 seats, 5,000 contacts, billed annually — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Starter, 8 seats, 25,000 contacts, billed monthly — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Professional base, paid monthly on annual commitment — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Professional base, billed annually — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Professional, 3 seats, 7,000 contacts, SMS add-on, paid monthly — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Professional, 3 seats, 7,000 contacts, SMS add-on, billed annually — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Professional, 8 seats, 27,000 contacts, SMS add-on, paid monthly — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Professional, 8 seats, 27,000 contacts, SMS add-on, billed annually — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Enterprise base, billed annually — read 26 September 2026
- HubSpot Customer Terms of Service (renewal, fee adjustments, downgrades) — read 26 September 2026
- HubSpot free trial page (Marketing Hub Professional) — read 26 September 2026
- Marketing Hub pricing page in EUR — read 26 September 2026
- Marketing Hub pricing page in INR — read 26 September 2026
- Free tools and Starter Customer Platform pricing page — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Professional, 8 seats, 27,000 contacts, SMS add-on plus 4 SMS Limit Increase packs, billed annually — read 26 September 2026
- Price calculator: Professional, 8 seats, 27,000 contacts, SMS add-on plus 4 SMS Limit Increase packs, paid monthly — read 26 September 2026
Automated re-check on : all 4 prices we re-read were still on HubSpot's pages.
- How long the Starter new-customer offer price ($10 per seat billed monthly, $7 per seat per month billed annually) lasts: HubSpot says only 'New customers only. Select offers available for a limited time.' Its terms allow fees to rise to the catalog list price ($20 per seat) at renewal.
- What Starter costs on annual billing once the new-customer offer ends: HubSpot's annual view shows the $7 offer price against a struck-through $20 list price, so Starter's annual price is recorded at the $20 list price. It is not stated whether the lower annual price for Starter marketing contacts ($142.50 instead of $190 a month for 4,000 extra) is a standard annual rate or part of the offer.
- Whether HubSpot waives or reduces the required Professional or Enterprise onboarding fee (for example when a Solutions Partner handles onboarding): not stated on the public pricing pages.
- Negotiated or multi-year discounts on Professional and Enterprise, which are sold through HubSpot sales: not published.
We re-check every price against the vendor's page each Monday; changes are logged on the changes page. See a price that's wrong? Tell us and we will correct it the same week.
Frequently asked questions
Is GoHighLevel cheaper than HubSpot?
It depends on whether you need to text leads. GoHighLevel's Starter plan costs $97 a month with unlimited users and unlimited contacts, and a small team's real bill lands at $125.42 a month once typical texting and email usage is added. HubSpot's Marketing Hub Starter costs $20 a seat a month with no usage wallet, so a solo operator can run it for $20 a month or less on the free tools. The comparison flips once a team needs marketing text messages: HubSpot doesn't sell SMS below Marketing Hub Professional, which starts at $890 a month, or $800 billed annually, plus a required $3,000 onboarding fee, while GoHighLevel bills texts by the segment on every plan. HubSpot is cheaper for a small, email-only team; GoHighLevel is cheaper for any team that plans to text leads.
Can GoHighLevel replace HubSpot for a marketing agency running several clients?
For an agency managing several client accounts, GoHighLevel usually replaces HubSpot rather than the other way around. GoHighLevel's Starter plan, at $97 a month, includes three sub-accounts, HighLevel's term for a separate client workspace, and the Unlimited plan at $297 a month removes that cap entirely; every plan carries unlimited users and unlimited contacts, so adding clients doesn't force a seat purchase. HubSpot has no comparable sub-account structure: each client would need its own subscription, and Marketing Hub Professional adds a required $3,000 onboarding fee and a 12-month commitment per subscription, not per agency. The trade-off is real: HubSpot's shared Smart CRM record links marketing, sales and service for one company's own team, which GoHighLevel doesn't replicate. An agency reselling software access to clients fits GoHighLevel; an agency running its own single sales-and-marketing motion may still prefer HubSpot's hub structure.
Which is better for text message marketing, GoHighLevel or HubSpot?
GoHighLevel, without much competition. Every GoHighLevel plan, including the $97-a-month Starter, can text out of the box: outbound SMS costs about $0.0075 per segment plus a carrier fee, and the only extra requirement is a one-time $22.50 A2P 10DLC registration before texting U.S. numbers. HubSpot doesn't sell marketing SMS on the free tools or on Marketing Hub Starter at any size. It's available only as a $75-a-month add-on, bundled with 1,000 message segments, and only with Marketing Hub Professional or Enterprise, plans that start at $890 a month and carry a required $3,000 or $7,000 onboarding fee before the SMS add-on is even added. A local-service business built around text follow-up gets native texting from GoHighLevel's first dollar; the same business would need to buy an entire Professional plan from HubSpot just to unlock it.
Do GoHighLevel and HubSpot both require a long-term contract?
No, and the two work differently. Every GoHighLevel plan, from Starter at $97 a month up through Agency Pro at $497 a month, is month-to-month with no long-term contract; paying annually is optional and only changes the price, not the commitment, and you can cancel from the dashboard at any time. HubSpot splits by tier: Marketing Hub Starter is also month-to-month, at $20 a seat, but Marketing Hub Professional requires a 12-month commitment whether you pay $890 a month across the year or prepay $800 a month upfront, and Marketing Hub Enterprise is billed annually only with no monthly option. A team on GoHighLevel's Unlimited or Agency Pro plan, or on HubSpot's Starter, can leave whenever it wants; a team on HubSpot Professional or Enterprise is locked in for a year once it signs.
How expensive is it to switch from HubSpot to GoHighLevel, or the other way around?
Switching cost depends mostly on timing and unused fees, not the software itself. Leaving HubSpot mid-term is the costlier case: Marketing Hub Professional requires a 12-month commitment, HubSpot's terms don't allow mid-term cancellation or a refund of prepaid fees, and the $3,000 (or $7,000 on Enterprise) onboarding fee already paid isn't recovered either way. Moving off GoHighLevel is easier to time: every plan is month-to-month, so you can cancel from the dashboard once you're ready, but any unused balance left in GoHighLevel's usage wallet is forfeited 30 days after cancellation under its Terms, and a canceled account's data is deleted after 90 days. Neither vendor's pricing pages describe a data-export process, so budget time to move contacts and content out before you cancel either one, not after.
Is HubSpot's free CRM a better fit than GoHighLevel for a solo operator?
For a solo operator with a short contact list and no texting need, usually yes. HubSpot's free tools cover up to 2 users and 1,000 contacts at $0 a month with no card required, which costs less than GoHighLevel's cheapest plan: Starter starts at $97 a month whether one person or several use it, since GoHighLevel doesn't price by seat at all. The calculation changes the moment that solo operator wants to text leads or run a booking calendar and CRM together: HubSpot doesn't sell marketing SMS below Marketing Hub Professional, at $890 a month, while GoHighLevel includes texting, calendars and a CRM in its $97 Starter plan with no seat charge. A freelancer who only emails a small list fits HubSpot's free tools; one who wants texting and scheduling from day one fits GoHighLevel's Starter instead.
Does GoHighLevel or HubSpot fit better for a SaaS startup?
HubSpot, in most cases. Marketing Hub Professional's workflows, lead scoring and shared Smart CRM record support a sales-and-marketing motion built alongside a product, for $890 a month paid monthly or $800 a month on the required annual term, plus a one-time $3,000 onboarding fee. GoHighLevel's design points the other way: its sub-accounts, agency terminology and phone system are built around managing other businesses' accounts, not running one company's own product-led sales cycle, and its $97-a-month Starter plan includes phone and texting infrastructure a SaaS startup's sales team may never use. A SaaS startup that specifically wants one flat, usage-based bill instead of seats and contact tiers is the exception worth checking GoHighLevel for anyway.
First published 27 September 2026 · Last updated