CinchStack

HubSpot review: who it's for and what it costs

Quick answer

As of 26 September 2026, HubSpot's Marketing Hub Starter costs $20 a seat a month with no onboarding fee, while Marketing Hub Professional starts at $890 a month (or $800 billed annually) plus a required $3,000 onboarding fee and a 12-month commitment. HubSpot suits a small agency or SaaS startup that wants marketing, sales, service and content built on one shared CRM record and is ready to pay per seat and per contact tier for that structure. A solo operator who needs SMS marketing on a tight budget, or a business outside the U.S. that needs native marketing texting, should look elsewhere first.

Our score

3.3 / 5

HubSpot's free tier and Starter plan are genuinely useful and honestly priced for a very small business, but growing past Starter's automation limits brings a mandatory onboarding fee, a 12-month lock-in, and a bill that can multiply well beyond the plan sticker once contacts, seats, and SMS are added.

Why we score it 3.3
  • Real cost2.0
  • Pricing honesty4.0
  • Small-team fit3.0
  • Does the whole job4.0
  • Freedom to leave2.5
  • Track record4.0
  • Real cost: The bill can run several times the plan sticker once marketing contacts, extra seats, and the SMS add-on stack up, and Professional or Enterprise also carries a mandatory one-time onboarding fee of $3,000 or $7,000 on top of the subscription.
  • Pricing honesty: HubSpot publishes a full Product & Services Catalog with per-seat prices, contact-tier rates, and add-on costs, and its public price calculator shows a first-year total, onboarding included, before any sales call.
  • Small-team fit: The free tools and Starter plan are simple to self-serve, but Starter caps email automation at 10 automated actions, so reaching multi-step automation pushes a team into Professional's required onboarding and 12-month commitment.
  • Does the whole job: Marketing Hub runs on the same Smart CRM database as HubSpot's sales, service, content, and data hubs, letting a business consolidate several functions under one shared contact record.
  • Freedom to leave: Starter can be paid and cancelled month to month, but Professional requires a 12-month commitment with no cancellation or downgrade mid-term and prepaid fees are non-refundable.
  • Track record: HubSpot has been publicly traded since 2014 and publishes a full product catalog, though its 2024 move to seat-based pricing changed how new customers pay for users.

Scored 27 September 2026 by two independent passes. HubSpot runs an affiliate program we have joined or may join, so this is the lower of the two scores. How scoring works.

Layer
Run · CRM and marketing automation
Best for
early-stage SaaS teams, marketing agencies
Cheapest paid plan
$20/mo
Free plan
Yes

Who is HubSpot actually built for?

HubSpot sells marketing, sales, service, content, data and revenue tools as separate hubs that all read and write to one Smart CRM record, with a free edition open to anyone running up to 2 users and 1,000 contacts. That shared record matters more than any single feature: a contact who fills out a form in Marketing Hub shows up automatically as a lead in Sales Hub, without anyone exporting a CSV between two disconnected systems. HubSpot’s own fit guidance points at growing teams rather than solo side projects, naming agencies juggling several clients’ pipelines and SaaS startups building a sales-and-marketing motion from scratch as the businesses it suits best — both need the same contact record shared across more than one team. A single-person business with a short list and simple needs can run entirely on the free tools or Marketing Hub Starter, but the case for HubSpot’s higher tiers gets stronger only once more than one team works the same contacts.

What makes HubSpot worth the price for the teams that fit it?

Two things set HubSpot apart from a plain email tool. First, the shared CRM record: marketing, sales, service and content hubs all point at the same contact, so a team isn’t rebuilding the same list in three separate products. Second, HubSpot publishes its whole cost structure in a public Product & Services Catalog — list prices, seat costs, contact-tier bands, add-on prices and limits, all in one document — and its price calculator totals a first-year cost, mandatory onboarding fee included, before anyone talks to sales. That combination is unusual: many CRM vendors at this scale keep pricing behind a sales call instead. HubSpot also bills only the contacts marked as “marketing” ones; non-marketing contacts sit in the same CRM for free up to 15 million total, so a large historical customer list doesn’t automatically inflate the bill the way active marketing contacts do.

Where does a HubSpot bill catch teams off guard?

The catch almost never shows up in the plan price itself; it shows up around it. Marketing Hub Professional and Enterprise each carry a mandatory, one-time onboarding fee — $3,000 for Professional, $7,000 for Enterprise — charged automatically the first time you buy the plan, on top of the subscription. Professional also requires a 12-month commitment whether you pay $890 a month across the year or prepay for $800 a month; there’s no cancel-anytime option at that tier the way there is on Starter, and Enterprise is billed annually only. Contact tiers add a second catch: cross into the next tier at any point and HubSpot bills it immediately, and marking contacts non-marketing to bring the count back down only takes effect at the next calendar month or at renewal — you cannot downgrade mid-term even if usage drops afterward. A subtler one: every Core Seat you own is priced at your highest edition across any hub, so pairing Marketing Hub Professional with a pricier Sales Hub tier raises the price of every marketing seat too, not just the ones doing sales work. And Starter’s currently discounted seat price is a new-customer offer HubSpot doesn’t promise to hold — its terms allow fees to rise to the $20 list price at renewal.

Who should skip HubSpot, and what should they use instead?

A few situations are clear skips, not judgment calls. HubSpot sells marketing SMS only as an add-on to Professional or Enterprise, and only to U.S. customers texting U.S. and Canadian numbers, so a business outside the U.S. that needs native marketing SMS can’t get it here, and a solo operator who wants to text a small list would be paying for an entire Professional plan, onboarding fee included, to unlock $75-a-month texting. Either one is better served by a tool built around messaging, such as Klaviyo, an email and SMS marketing platform that doesn’t gate texting behind a CRM tier.

Teams that only need a sales pipeline, not a shared marketing record, are also paying for more than they’ll use. Pipedrive, a sales CRM built around pipeline tracking rather than hubs, brings a small team’s real bill to $189 a month with none of Marketing Hub’s contact-tier structure. Teams that mainly need marketing automation without full CRM breadth can look at ActiveCampaign, an email marketing automation tool with a lighter CRM, where the same small-team size runs $149 a month. And any team put off by seat pricing, contact tiers and the 12-month Professional commitment should look at GoHighLevel: its Starter plan bills a flat $97 a month for unlimited users and unlimited contacts, with no onboarding fee required, though phone, text and AI usage bill separately as you go; a small team’s real bill runs $125.42 a month. See the GoHighLevel vs. HubSpot comparison for the full breakdown.

How does HubSpot fit into a small business’s software stack?

HubSpot sits in the run layer — the CRM and marketing-automation core a business builds sales and client communication around — rather than the site it lives on or the store that takes payment. In a marketing agency’s stack, HubSpot typically anchors client CRM and campaign work alongside a separate site-builder and payment tool; in a SaaS startup’s stack, it usually runs the sales pipeline and lifecycle email while a separate tool handles the product itself. Either way, HubSpot is not a stack on its own — it’s the run layer of one.

The verdict splits by situation more than by size. An agency running several client pipelines on one shared record, or a SaaS startup building a sales-and-marketing motion from its first hires, should plan to graduate from Starter to Professional and budget for the onboarding fee and the 12-month term as part of that decision, not a surprise afterward. A solo operator with a short list and no SMS need can stay on the free tools or Starter indefinitely. A business that specifically needs SMS on a tight budget, or wants one flat usage-based bill instead of seats and contact tiers, is better off starting with one of the alternatives above.

What it does well, and where it falls short

Strengths
  • Free tools for up to 2 users and 1,000 contacts, with no credit card required
  • Only marketing contacts are billed; non-marketing contacts are stored free up to 15 million total contacts
  • Starter can be paid month to month and carries no onboarding fee
  • List prices, contact tiers, add-ons and limits are published in a public Product & Services Catalog
  • The public price calculator shows the first-year cost, onboarding included, before any sales call
  • Marketing, sales, service, content and data hubs all run on the same Smart CRM contact database
Weaknesses
  • Professional and Enterprise charge a mandatory one-time onboarding fee on top of the subscription
  • Professional needs a 12-month commitment and Enterprise is billed annually only
  • Marketing SMS is sold only as an add-on to Professional or Enterprise, and only to U.S. customers
  • Marketing contact tiers can't be lowered until renewal, and going over a tier is billed immediately
  • Starter caps email automation at 10 automated actions, so multi-step workflows push teams to Professional
  • Every Core Seat is billed at the highest edition you own across any hub

What HubSpot really costs

The real monthly bill at three business sizes, every line included; the full breakdown is on the pricing page.

SizeScenarioPer month
SoloSolo operator, 1,000 contacts, on Marketing Hub Starter (SMS not included)$20
Small teamSmall team, 5,000 contacts with SMS, on Marketing Hub Professional$1,100
Growing teamGrowing team, 25,000 contacts with SMS, on Marketing Hub Professional$2,262.50

Every plan, add-on and hidden cost in HubSpot's pricing →

Compare HubSpot

How we checked this

HubSpot: Read from HubSpot's Marketing Hub pricing page (both billing toggles and the FAQ), its Create a Bundle price calculator set to each scenario, the Product & Services Catalog and the Customer Terms of Service in a US-locale headless browser; snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD; HubSpot's pricing page has a currency picker that shows local-currency prices: for example Marketing Hub Enterprise is €3,300/month in EUR and ₹300,000/month in INR against $3,600 in USD, and Professional onboarding is €2,930 or ₹250,000. We publish U.S. list prices in USD. Marketing SMS add-ons are sold to U.S. customers only.

Automated re-check on : all 4 prices we re-read were still on HubSpot's pages.

What we could not verify:
  • How long the Starter new-customer offer price ($10 per seat billed monthly, $7 per seat per month billed annually) lasts: HubSpot says only 'New customers only. Select offers available for a limited time.' Its terms allow fees to rise to the catalog list price ($20 per seat) at renewal.
  • What Starter costs on annual billing once the new-customer offer ends: HubSpot's annual view shows the $7 offer price against a struck-through $20 list price, so Starter's annual price is recorded at the $20 list price. It is not stated whether the lower annual price for Starter marketing contacts ($142.50 instead of $190 a month for 4,000 extra) is a standard annual rate or part of the offer.
  • Whether HubSpot waives or reduces the required Professional or Enterprise onboarding fee (for example when a Solutions Partner handles onboarding): not stated on the public pricing pages.
  • Negotiated or multi-year discounts on Professional and Enterprise, which are sold through HubSpot sales: not published.

We re-check every price against the vendor's page each Monday; changes are logged on the changes page. See a price that's wrong? Tell us and we will correct it the same week.

Frequently asked questions

Is HubSpot worth it for a small business?

It depends on what a business needs from the CRM record, not just the sticker price. HubSpot's free tools cover 2 users and 1,000 contacts with no credit card required, and Marketing Hub Starter removes HubSpot's branding and raises the automation ceiling for $20 a seat a month, still with no onboarding fee and no minimum term. The math changes once a business needs more than 10 automated actions or marketing text messages: that forces Marketing Hub Professional, which starts at $890 a month paid monthly (or $800 billed annually) and adds a mandatory $3,000 onboarding fee plus a 12-month commitment. For a small business that fits inside Starter's limits, HubSpot is worth it. For one that needs Professional's features right away, budget for the onboarding fee and the year-long term before deciding, not just the monthly number.

Is HubSpot too complicated to set up without a dedicated marketing team?

Setting up the free tools or Marketing Hub Starter is self-serve: HubSpot doesn't charge a fee or require a sales call for either tier, so a small team can sign up and start building forms, landing pages and email sends the same day. Marketing Hub Professional is different. HubSpot requires a one-time $3,000 Professional Onboarding fee, charged automatically the first time you buy the plan, for remote onboarding with a HubSpot specialist delivered within 90 days of purchase; Enterprise carries its own required $7,000 onboarding fee on the same basis. HubSpot's public pricing pages don't say whether that fee is ever reduced or waived, for example when a HubSpot Solutions Partner handles setup instead. Budget for a HubSpot specialist's help, not a plug-and-play rollout, once a team moves onto Professional or Enterprise.

How many people do you need before HubSpot's per-seat pricing pays off?

HubSpot's per-seat pricing means the payoff depends on how many people actually need a login, not team size alone. Marketing Hub Starter charges $20 a seat a month with no seats bundled in for free, so a 1-person team pays $20 and a 5-person team pays for 5 full seats. Marketing Hub Professional includes 3 Core Seats in its base price, and extra seats cost $50 a month paid monthly, or $45 a month billed annually; Enterprise includes 5 seats, with extras at $75 a month. A team that only needs 1 or 2 people logged in rarely gets value from Professional's included seats and is usually better off staying on Starter until automation needs, not headcount, force the upgrade.

Can you downgrade from HubSpot Professional back to Starter if you overbuy?

No. HubSpot's subscription terms say you cannot downgrade or cancel a plan during its current term, and prepaid fees aren't refunded, so buying Professional locks in its 12-month commitment even if Starter would have been enough. The same rule applies to marketing contacts: if the count crosses into a higher tier at any point, HubSpot bills that tier immediately, and marking contacts as non-marketing to bring the number back down only takes effect at the start of the next calendar month or at renewal, not right away. The practical fix is sizing the plan conservatively before buying, since HubSpot's own terms give no way to move back down mid-term once a team has moved up a tier.

What's the real difference between HubSpot's free CRM and Marketing Hub Starter?

The free tools cap out at 2 users, 1,000 contacts and 2,000 marketing email sends a month, put HubSpot's branding on every send, and allow only 1 automated email action, with no marketing SMS available at all. Marketing Hub Starter removes the branding, raises email automation to 10 automated actions, and supports up to 50 active CRM segments, for $20 a seat a month. Both tiers share the same Smart CRM record, and neither includes marketing SMS, which HubSpot sells only as an add-on to Professional or Enterprise. The practical line is simple: stay on the free tools while testing with a tiny list, and move to Starter the moment branding, the 1,000-contact cap, or the single automated action starts limiting a real campaign.

Does HubSpot work for a business that needs SMS marketing?

Only partly, and only in the U.S. HubSpot doesn't sell marketing SMS on the free tools or on Marketing Hub Starter at any size; the Marketing SMS add-on is available only with Professional or Enterprise, costs $75 a month for 1,000 message segments, and sends only from a U.S. 10DLC number to U.S. and Canadian phone numbers. Going over the included segments costs $15 a month per extra 1,000-segment pack, and unused segments don't roll over. That means a business that wants texting from day one has to buy a much bigger plan, onboarding fee included, just to unlock it, and a business outside the U.S. that needs native marketing SMS can't get it from HubSpot at all. Either case is a reason to look at a messaging-focused tool instead.

Is HubSpot a good fit for a marketing agency managing several clients?

Reasonably well, which is why HubSpot lists agencies among the businesses it best fits. An agency's advantage is the shared Smart CRM record: client contacts, deals and marketing activity for sales, marketing and service all sit on one record instead of three disconnected tools. Marketing Hub Professional's included 3 Core Seats and up to 300 workflows across 10 teams suit an agency running several client accounts at once, though every Core Seat is priced at the highest edition owned across any hub, so mixing Professional Marketing with a higher Sales Hub tier raises marketing seat costs too. The mandatory $3,000 onboarding fee and 12-month commitment are real costs to build into a client retainer before signing, not absorb afterward.

First published 27 September 2026 · Last updated