Notion alternatives, priced honestly
As of 27 September 2026, Notion's cheapest paid plan, Plus, costs $12 a seat a month ($10 billed yearly), and Notion's own Free plan is genuinely free for one person. Only one alternative here, ClickUp, actually competes with Notion's docs-and-database workspace; the rest fit a narrower job, such as a real sales pipeline or a real website, that people often build inside a Notion database instead of buying the dedicated tool for it. An agency or a freelancer running a straightforward workspace, with no dedicated project-tracking need, is usually better off staying on Notion and learning its limits than switching for a feature it never claimed to have.
Every alternative below with its real monthly bill for a small team, next to Notion's own ($60/month), as of the dates on each pricing page. Each bill is sized for the job that tool does, shown under the figure.
| Tool | Layer | Small team | Score |
|---|---|---|---|
| Notion the tool you are replacing | Organize | $605 seats | 4.2 |
| ClickUp | Organize | $505 seats | 3.5 |
| Pipedrive | Run | $1893 users, 5,000 contacts | 3.4 |
| Zoho CRM | Run | $1503 users, 5,000 contacts | 3.5 |
| Squarespace | Site | $393 editors | 4.1 |
Your workspace added a second member, and pages and blocks that were 'unlimited' on Free instantly became 'limited' — Notion has never published the actual cap.
ClickUp
Free Forever has no membership trigger: it allows unlimited members and tasks from the very first teammate you add, though it caps total file storage at 60MB per Workspace and limits Custom Fields, Gantt charts and time tracking to a fixed number of uses instead.
Small team: $50/mo · real cost
Visit ClickUpYou need dedicated project-tracking views — a Gantt chart, a timeline, a workload view — not database properties standing in for them.
ClickUp
Includes Gantt, Timeline and Workload views from Free Forever onward, though Free caps each at 60 uses per Workspace that never reset; Unlimited raises that to 100 uses, and Business removes the cap entirely. Notion's plans list databases with subtasks and custom properties, useful for a simple task list, but no dedicated view of any of these types.
Small team: $50/mo · real cost
Visit ClickUpNotion's 'Trial of Notion AI' has no stated length or usage cap, so there is no way to tell how much of it you are actually getting before it stops.
ClickUp
States its AI trial as an actual number instead of an open-ended 'Limited Trial': Free Forever includes 25 Brain AI uses for a Workspace of up to 10 people, and a paid Workspace gets its own automatic trial on top.
Small team: $50/mo · real cost
Visit ClickUpYou built a lightweight CRM out of a Notion database, and outgrew what generic properties can do for deal stages, pipeline value and forecasting.
Pipedrive
A dedicated sales-pipeline CRM starting at $24 a seat a month, with deal stages, activity reminders and reporting built for a pipeline instead of assembled from database properties.
Small team: $189/mo · real cost
Visit PipedriveZoho CRM
Prices every edition per seat with a free plan for up to 3 users, and its pipeline stages, forecasting and workflow automation are native to the CRM rather than built by hand in a table.
Small team: $150/mo · real cost
Visit Zoho CRMYou published your business's site as a Notion site, and need real design control plus a domain price you can see upfront, not an add-on the pricing page never puts a rate on.
Squarespace
A flat per-site website builder starting at $25 a month, with a bundled first-year domain on annual billing and published transaction fees, instead of Notion's 'pay per domain' add-on with no listed rate.
Small team: $39/mo · real cost
Visit SquarespaceIf you want one answer
Squarespace
Website builder with built-in online stores, invoicing and AI tools, priced per site with no per-contributor fee above the entry-level Basic plan.
Score 4.1 · small team $39/mo
Visit SquarespaceWho gets more from staying on Notion than from switching?
Notion earns its place for one kind of business more than any other: a team whose real work is writing and organizing, not tracking dozens of dependent tasks. An agency documenting client processes, a freelancer keeping proposals and notes in one place, or a SaaS startup writing specs and onboarding docs gets a flexible page-and-database system for as little as $0 a month for one person, or $12 a seat a month once a second person joins. Guests are also free and unlimited on every paid plan, limited only to the pages someone actually shares with them. None of the alternatives below match that combination of a flexible wiki, a lightweight database and free guest access, because none of them are built to be a wiki first. Switching away from a genuine fit just rebuilds the same page structure somewhere else for no real gain. The rest of this page covers the other two cases: a team that has outgrown Notion’s databases for project tracking, and a team using Notion as a stand-in for a job — a CRM, a website — a dedicated tool does better.
Why does “cheaper” change depending on how many people you add?
Every real bill on this page is priced for a 5-person team, and that single snapshot hides how fast a ranking can flip. Notion’s own bill runs from $0 for one person on the Free plan to $180 a month for fifteen people on Plus, because Plus has no published seat cap and nothing about a bigger team forces an upgrade to Business. An alternative that looks cheaper at 5 people is not guaranteed to stay cheaper at 1 person or at 15 — read the full comparison between Notion and ClickUp at all three sizes before assuming the number on this page is the only one that matters. Judge a pick by where your team is actually headed, not by whichever column of a pricing page you happened to load first.
What should you check before you cancel a paid Notion workspace?
Cancelling or downgrading a Notion workspace does not cut you off immediately: Notion’s own billing rules keep paid features active until the end of the current billing cycle, and a subscription otherwise renews automatically until you act. What takes more care is the money and the content around it. Because a paid seat is billed for the rest of the period it was added in even after a member leaves, time a cancellation for the end of a billing cycle rather than the middle of one, or you pay for seats you have already stopped using. Check your page-history window before you commit to anything, too: Free keeps 7 days, Plus 30, and Business 90, so a page edited incorrectly weeks ago may already be unrecoverable by the time you get around to exporting it. If your workspace has external guests, remember they can only open the individual pages someone specifically shared with them, so a guest losing access when you cancel is not something a dashboard warns you about in advance; tell anyone who depends on a shared page before the workspace actually closes.
How do you actually get your pages and databases out of Notion?
Start the export while your workspace is still active, not after you cancel. Notion’s help center describes exporting an entire workspace as PDF, HTML, or Markdown for pages with CSV for databases, generated from the workspace settings; a full workspace export can take up to 30 hours to process, and the download link it emails you expires after 7 days, so request it with time to spare and check it before your subscription lapses. Two limits catch people off guard: exporting a page bundled together with all of its subpages as a single zip file is available only on Business and Enterprise, so a Free or Plus workspace exports the same content page by page instead of in ready-made bundles, and any database still set to a form view has to be switched to a table view first, since form views do not export at all. Open the exported files before treating them as a backup: confirm the properties, tags and linked databases your business relies on came through, then rebuild the structure in whichever alternative you picked, running it alongside Notion before you cancel either one.
Which alternative actually fits the reason you’re leaving?
Match the swap to the specific reason, not to whichever name is loudest in a search result. If the reason is a missing project-management view — a Gantt chart, a timeline, a workload view — ClickUp is the one alternative here built as a genuine docs-and-database competitor rather than a tool for a different job entirely. If the real reason is that a Notion database was standing in for a sales pipeline, Pipedrive or Zoho CRM replaces that job properly instead of adding more custom properties to patch it. If you were publishing your business’s site as a Notion site, Squarespace replaces that job with a bundled first-year domain and a published transaction fee instead of an add-on Notion’s own pricing page never puts a rate on. The wider market also includes database-and-wiki tools such as Coda, Airtable and Confluence; we have not verified their pricing, so they are left out of the picks above rather than guessed at. Decide before you cancel Notion, not after — the two sections above cover what that costs you if you get the order backwards.
How we checked this
Notion: Read from Notion's pricing page in a US-locale headless browser: the default view (Pay yearly selected), the page after clicking 'Pay monthly', the billing FAQ answers expanded, and a DOM extract of the plan-comparison table that keeps each cell in its plan column; snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.
- Notion pricing page, default view (Pay yearly selected): plan cards, comparison table, Custom Agents/Workers callouts, FAQ questions — read 26 September 2026
- Notion pricing page with 'Pay monthly' selected (Plus $12, Business $24 per member/month) — read 27 September 2026
- Notion pricing FAQ accordions expanded: how pricing is calculated, charges when adding members, how paid seats are counted, upgrade/downgrade behavior, cancellation — read 27 September 2026
- Notion pricing page 'Plans and features' comparison table, extracted from the page DOM with each cell kept in its Free/Plus/Business/Enterprise column — read 27 September 2026
Automated re-check on : all 1 prices we re-read were still on Notion's pages.
- Free's exact page/block cap once a workspace has 2 or more members isn't given as a number on the pricing page (it only says 'limited').
- How many Notion credits the Custom Agents free trial includes, and how many credits a typical agent task uses, isn't stated on the pricing page, so a monthly credit bill can't be estimated.
- The 'Trial of Notion AI' on Free and Plus has no stated length or usage cap on the pricing page.
- The price of a custom domain for a Notion site ('Pay per domain') isn't shown on the pricing page.
- Prices outside a US locale and in currencies other than USD were not checked, although the page has a currency selector.
ClickUp: Read from ClickUp's pricing page in a US-locale headless browser (plan cards, both AI billing toggles, the complete feature list and each FAQ answer) and from ClickUp Help Center articles on pricing, billing, add-ons, AI credits and plan limits; snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.
- ClickUp pricing page as loaded: plan cards list both the billed-yearly and the billed-monthly price; AI section on its default Yearly setting — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp pricing page, AI pricing section with its Monthly toggle selected — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp pricing page, AI pricing section with its Yearly toggle selected — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp pricing page with the 'Complete feature list' table expanded (Spaces, storage, automations, Teams, guests) — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: What payment methods do you accept? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: What is your refund policy? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: How am I billed when I add paid users to a Workspace? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: What if I have multiple Workspaces? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: What happens if I cancel? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: Do you offer discounts for nonprofits, students, educators, or startups? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: What is a 'use' in context of ClickUp's plans? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: What happens when I hit my usage limits? — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing FAQ: Does adding Guests to my Workspace affect my plan or how I'm billed? — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Intro to pricing — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Pricing per user role and plan — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Intro to billing — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Upgrade your plan — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Downgrade your plan — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Purchase or cancel ClickUp add-ons — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: ClickUp Brain AI feature availability and limits (AI trial uses and credits by plan) — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Which features are included with the Brain AI add-ons? — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: How are AI Credits consumed? — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Track your Workspace's Brain AI usage (credit top-ups and overage protection) — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: AI Notetaker and Meetings Hub feature availability and limits — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Automations feature availability and limits — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Workspace storage limits — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Views feature availability and limits (Gantt, Timeline, Workload, Whiteboards) — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Dashboards feature availability and limits — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Intro to Custom Fields (uses by plan) — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Time Tracking feature availability and limits — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Teams feature availability and limits — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Owner, admin, and member-type user roles (which roles are paid; open seats) — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Remove someone from a Workspace — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Sales tax — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp Help Center: Is there a discount for non-profit or educational companies? — read 26 September 2026
- ClickUp German-language pricing page (regional check: same USD prices) — read 26 September 2026
Automated re-check on : all 6 prices we re-read were still on ClickUp's pages.
- Enterprise pricing is quote-only ('Contact sales').
- Business Plus, and the 'new set of plans that include more ClickUp AI' that ClickUp's help centre says some Workspaces see, are priced only inside the app's upgrade flow; their prices are not on the public pricing page and were not captured.
- Prices of the Automation Actions add-on (Business Plus and Enterprise only), the standalone AI Talk to Text add-on and ClickUp Assist (live 1:1 training) are shown only in a Workspace's billing page or not at all on the pages we captured. Whether the standalone AI Notetaker add-on has a fee beyond its hour blocks is not stated.
- Nonprofit, academic and startup discount amounts are not published.
- ClickUp's 'Upgrade your plan' help article says Free Forever Workspaces with more than 100 MB of data must upgrade, while the pricing page, the feature list and the 'Workspace storage limits' article say 60MB; this record uses 60MB.
- Prices were read from a US locale; we did not test whether checkout shows different prices when accessed from other countries.
- Whether an open seat left by a removed member still counts toward the bill at the next renewal (or is dropped from it) is not stated anywhere in the captured Help Center articles; they only say the seat 'remains open' until a new member fills it.
Pipedrive: Pipedrive's English pricing page (pipedrive.com/en/pricing) returned a Cloudflare bot-block (HTTP 403) to both a US-locale headless Chromium browser and to curl from this network. Prices and plan/add-on data were instead read from Pipedrive's Spanish-locale pricing page (pipedrive.com/es/pricing), which serves the same US-geolocated USD prices from the same underlying pricing data and was not blocked: captured in a headless browser with both billing toggles clicked, and via curl of that page's embedded __NEXT_DATA__ pricingData JSON (Pipedrive's own machine-readable price list, covering every plan, add-on and top-up). This was supplemented with Pipedrive's public Knowledge Base articles and feature pages (LeadBooster, Web Visitors, Projects, Smart Docs, Campaigns, Nova, billing, seats and plan-comparison articles). All pages saved as snapshots. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD; Pipedrive bills in the customer's local currency by billing country: USD for the US and most other countries, AUD for Australia, CAD for Canada, GBP for the UK, and EUR for European countries and Turkey. Pipedrive's own embedded pricing data shows AUD and CAD list prices running higher than the USD/EUR/GBP amount for the same plan (e.g. Lite billed annually: $14 USD/GBP/EUR per seat/month vs $19 AUD/CAD). EU customers are also charged VAT on top of the listed price unless they supply a valid VAT number; Pipedrive states its prices exclusive of VAT. This record reports Pipedrive's US-dollar list price.
- Pipedrive's English pricing page (Cloudflare bot-block, HTTP 403, hit by both a US-locale headless browser and curl) — read 26 September 2026
- Pipedrive pricing page, default view (annual billing, US-geolocated USD prices) — read 26 September 2026
- Pipedrive pricing page after clicking Monthly billing — read 26 September 2026
- Pipedrive pricing page, Monthly billing, plus the expanded plan-comparison table — read 26 September 2026
- Pipedrive pricing page's embedded __NEXT_DATA__ pricingData JSON (curl, no browser) - plan prices and every add-on/top-up rate — read 26 September 2026
- Pipedrive pricing page's embedded plan-comparison table (curl, no browser) - per-plan limits with tooltips — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: How does pricing work in Pipedrive? — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: What is the difference between a user and a seat? — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: What is the difference between annual and monthly billing? — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: accepted payment methods and billing currency by country — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: Understanding LeadBooster and Prospector billing — read 26 September 2026
- LeadBooster feature page (price headline: $32.50/mo annual, $39/mo monthly) — read 26 September 2026
- Lead capture feature page (LeadBooster price confirmation) — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: Projects billing and subscription — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: Campaigns add-on tiers (Standard vs Premium feature tiers) — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: Campaigns subscription and billing (subscriber tiers) — read 26 September 2026
- Web Visitors add-on feature page (3-tier price table) — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: How does Web Visitors pricing work? — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: Smart Docs (plan availability, add-on trial) — read 26 September 2026
- Pipedrive Nova product page (Nova included free in all plans) — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: texting contacts from the mobile app (device-level shortcut, not a billed Pipedrive feature) — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: data enrichment credits and top-ups — read 26 September 2026
- Knowledge Base: legacy plan names mapped to current plans (Essential/Advanced/Professional/Enterprise to Lite/Growth/Premium/Ultimate) — read 26 September 2026
Automated re-check on : all 4 prices we re-read were still on Pipedrive's pages.
- Pipedrive has no native SMS-sending product (its mobile app's 'texting' feature only deep-links to the phone's own messaging app and is not billed by Pipedrive), so the SMS lines in the standard solo/small/growing scenarios (200/1,000/5,000 SMS per month) could not be priced and are not included in any scenario's monthly total.
- Web Visitors add-on: only the entry tier (up to 200 organizations, $49/month paid monthly, $41/month billed annually) and the next two published tiers (201-500 orgs at $99/month; 501-2,000 orgs at $299/month) are public. Annual-billing prices for those higher two tiers, and pricing above 2,000 organizations, are not published on any page Pipedrive makes public; Pipedrive assigns a tier only after a 7-day trial of actual traffic.
- Smart Docs add-on's two published price bands ($39/month lower band, $59/month higher band) are labeled only by an internal 'units 1-30' / 'units 31-100' range in Pipedrive's own pricing data; no page states what is being counted. This is most likely monthly eSignature requests, since Smart Docs' own free trial is metered in 'five signature requests', but that is inference, not a stated fact.
- Pipedrive's embedded pricing data lists paid 'Nova' SKUs (nova_v1 through nova_v4, $10-$25 per seat/month, $96-$240 per seat/year), but every page captured about Nova (pipedrive.com/en/nova and its FAQ) states plainly that 'Nova is included in all plans, at no additional cost.' What the paid Nova SKUs are for (e.g. usage beyond a free monthly allotment) is not explained on any page captured, so no Nova add-on price is recorded here.
- Whether Campaigns' published per-subscriber rate bands are graduated (each band applied only to the subscribers within it, as assumed in the small/growing scenarios) or a single blended rate (the whole subscriber count charged at the rate of the top band reached) is not stated on any page captured; Pipedrive's own copy ('the more contacts you add, the less you pay per subscriber') is consistent with either reading.
Zoho CRM: Read Zoho CRM's own pricing page in a US-locale (en-US, America/New_York) headless browser, capturing both the Monthly and Annually toggle states with the FAQ expanded, and its full feature-comparison page with every row expanded (the only page that shows Ultimate, which has no card on the main pricing page). Also checked the India-locale URL path directly. Every price on every capture was explicitly prefixed 'US$'. Snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.
- Zoho CRM pricing page, default view (Annually selected), en-US — read 26 September 2026
- Zoho CRM pricing page, Monthly billing toggle clicked, FAQ expanded — read 27 September 2026
- Zoho CRM pricing page, Annually billing toggle clicked back, FAQ expanded — read 27 September 2026
- Zoho CRM complete feature-comparison table, all rows expanded, Free through Ultimate, both Annually and Monthly prices — read 27 September 2026
- India-locale path check: returned HTTP 404, no separate localized pricing page found at this path — read 27 September 2026
These prices appear only after choosing options on the vendor's page, so they are re-checked by hand rather than automatically.
- Zoho CRM does not list a native SMS/texting feature or per-SMS rate on its pricing or feature-comparison pages; the standard 200/1,000/5,000-SMS-per-month assumptions used for this layer's scenarios are not reflected in any scenario line.
- No Zoho CRM edition's published Mass Email cap reaches 100,000 emails/month (Ultimate's is about 60,000/month); what it would actually cost to send 100,000/month (a different Zoho product, or a support-approved limit increase) is not published.
- Additional Portal user license pricing is referenced ('Pricing for additional portal user licenses') on the feature-comparison page, but no figure is shown there.
- Whether Zoho shows non-USD pricing (e.g. INR) to visitors it detects as being outside the US: we saw only 'US$'-prefixed prices, the bare pricing URL redirected to the /en-us/ path, and a direct /en-in/ path returned a 404; we did not test IP-based geolocation from other countries directly.
Squarespace: Read Squarespace's pricing page in a US-locale headless browser with both the Pay-monthly and Pay-annually toggle states and the full feature-comparison table expanded; cross-checked every plan price and card-processing rate against Squarespace's own checkout API (curl, JSON) and the page's schema.org JSON-LD and tooltip text (curl); and read Squarespace Help Center articles on transaction fees, contributor roles and limits, page limits, AI credits, Google Workspace pricing, Email Campaigns pricing (plus its own checkout API and pricing-slider captures), domain pricing, student discounts and the refund policy. Snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD; Squarespace's own OfferCatalog markup states it prices per billing country, with a different currency and amount offered outside the US. This record captures US-locale USD list prices only and was not compared against other countries' pricing.
- Pricing page, default view (Pay annually selected) — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing page structured data: plan-card price elements (Pay monthly and Pay annually) and schema.org JSON-LD (OfferCatalog + FAQPage), extracted via curl — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing page with Pay monthly clicked — read 26 September 2026
- Full feature-comparison table, expanded (annual-billing view) — read 26 September 2026
- Feature tooltip text (hidden <details> tooltips), extracted via curl — read 26 September 2026
- Squarespace checkout API: website plan prices and card-processing rate sheets (JSON) — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Transaction fees and payment processing rates — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Contributor roles and permissions — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Contributors basics — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Page limits — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Choosing the right Squarespace plan — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Selling on the Basic, Core, Plus, and Advanced plans — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Use AI credits for Squarespace AI tools — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Google Workspace pricing, billing, and invoices — read 26 September 2026
- Squarespace Students page — read 26 September 2026
- Squarespace Domains home page — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Squarespace domain renewals — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Website refund policy — read 26 September 2026
- Email Campaigns pricing slider, Pay annually selected, stepped through every tier — read 26 September 2026
- Email Campaigns pricing slider, Pay monthly selected, stepped through every tier — read 26 September 2026
- Squarespace checkout API: Email Campaigns plan prices (JSON) — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Email Campaigns pricing, billing, and invoices — read 26 September 2026
Automated re-check on : all 1 prices we re-read were still on Squarespace's pages.
- AI credit pack price: Squarespace lets you buy up to 400 extra AI credits per purchase from inside the account dashboard, but no USD price per credit or per pack is shown on any public page — only the purchase flow itself, which requires a logged-in account.
- A single per-domain renewal price (e.g. for a .com): Squarespace's domain pages show only a $10 promotional entry price and an overall '$11–$130' range across TLDs; the exact renewal price for a specific domain is shown only in Squarespace's interactive domain search/checkout, not as a static figure.
- Non-US pricing: Squarespace's own markup says it prices per billing country in local currency; this record checked US-locale USD pricing only and did not capture any other country's amounts.
We re-check every price against the vendor's page each Monday; changes are logged on the changes page. See a price that's wrong? Tell us and we will correct it the same week.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest alternative to Notion?
For most single-person use, nothing beats Notion's own Free plan, which costs $0 a month and stays fully unlimited for one member. Among the alternatives here, ClickUp's Free Forever plan matches that $0 price and, unlike Notion Free, does not shrink once a second member joins the workspace, though it caps total file storage at 60MB per Workspace and limits several views to a fixed number of one-time uses that never reset. Zoho CRM also has a free plan, for up to 3 users, but it only replaces the job of tracking a sales pipeline, not docs or project pages. Pipedrive and Squarespace have no free-forever tier at all; each starts with a 14-day trial of a paid plan instead. The cheapest real swap is almost always ClickUp, not because it undercuts Notion's price, but because it is the only alternative here that stays free once a second person joins.
Is there a free alternative to Notion that stays free once you add teammates?
Yes, ClickUp's Free Forever plan is the one alternative here built that way. It costs $0 a month regardless of how many members join the Workspace, unlike Notion's Free plan, which is genuinely unlimited in pages and blocks only for a single member and turns 'limited' the moment a second person joins, at a cap Notion has never published. ClickUp's free plan is not unlimited either, just differently limited: it caps total file storage at 60MB for the whole Workspace and gives Custom Fields, Gantt charts, Timeline, Workload and Dashboards a fixed number of one-time uses that never come back once spent. A two-person team that mostly writes documents and rarely uploads large files can genuinely run on ClickUp's Free Forever plan at no cost; a team that uploads a lot of media will hit the 60MB cap quickly and need Unlimited at $10 a seat a month.
Which is the better Notion alternative for a sales pipeline: Pipedrive or Zoho CRM?
Pick Zoho CRM first if cost matters most: it has a free plan for up to 3 users, and its cheapest paid edition, Standard, costs $20 a seat a month ($14 billed yearly), including mass-email sending that a Notion database never had in the first place. Pick Pipedrive if pipeline depth matters more than price: its cheapest plan, Lite, costs $24 a seat a month, and deal-and-lead capacity scales with seats from the entry tier up, though Lite has no built-in email sync or automation at all — both start only on Pipedrive's Growth plan at $49 a seat a month. Neither tool has a native SMS feature, so a business planning to text leads from the same tool needs a different pick entirely. For a small team just outgrowing a Notion database, Zoho CRM's free plan is the cheaper place to start.
Is a Notion site a real substitute for a dedicated website builder?
Not for a public-facing business site. Notion's site tools are a secondary feature bundled into its workspace plans: Free allows one notion.site domain, and connecting a custom domain of your own is billed as 'pay per domain' with no rate shown anywhere on Notion's pricing page. Squarespace is built for this job specifically: its cheapest plan, Basic, costs $25 a month ($19 billed yearly) and bundles a free custom domain for the first year on annual billing, plus a published 2% transaction fee on online-store sales that drops to 0% on its higher plans. Squarespace also allows up to 1,000 pages and unlimited bandwidth on every current plan, limits that a real marketing site is far more likely to reach than a Notion-hosted one is. A handful of public pages linked from a shared workspace can still live on a Notion site; a business selling anything, or running a real marketing site, needs a tool built for that instead.
When should you stay on Notion instead of switching to an alternative?
Stay if your team's real work is writing and organizing, not tracking dozens of dependent tasks or running a sales pipeline. Notion's Business plan, at $24 a seat a month ($20 billed yearly), bundles Notion Agent, AI Meeting Notes and Enterprise Search into the seat price, and its guests are free and unlimited on every paid plan, limited only to the pages someone actually shares with them. None of the alternatives here beat that combination for a wiki-and-docs workspace: ClickUp charges its AI as a separate per-member add-on on top of a paid plan, and Pipedrive, Zoho CRM and Squarespace do not compete on documentation at all. The one case worth checking twice is a growing team that leans hard on task tracking — if a Gantt chart, a timeline or a workload view across many people matters more than the wiki, ClickUp is worth comparing directly before renewing another year of Business seats.
How much more does each Notion alternative cost than staying on Notion?
Notion Plus, the plan a 5-person team actually needs once Free's unpublished member cap kicks in, runs $12 a seat a month ($10 billed yearly). ClickUp's comparable plan, Unlimited, undercuts that at $10 a seat a month ($7 billed yearly), and its Free Forever tier costs nothing at all. The other alternatives here cost more because they replace a different, pricier job: Pipedrive's cheapest plan, Lite, is $24 a seat a month; Zoho CRM's cheapest paid edition, Standard, is $20 a seat a month ($14 billed yearly), though it also has a free plan for up to 3 users; and Squarespace's entry plan, Basic, is $25 a month ($19 billed yearly) per site, not per seat. None of those three price against Notion directly — you are paying for a CRM or a website builder, not a cheaper wiki.
First published 27 September 2026 · Last updated