Klaviyo vs Mailchimp
As of 27 September 2026, Klaviyo's cheapest paid plan costs $20 a month for 500 active profiles, and Mailchimp's cheapest paid plan, Essentials, costs $13 a month for up to 500 contacts, though both prices rise in profile- or contact-count tiers from there. Klaviyo builds native, usage-priced SMS and Shopify- and WooCommerce-specific tools into its core product and never charges extra for team seats; Mailchimp caps seats by plan but adds a 14-day free trial and an annual discount Klaviyo doesn't offer. Pick Klaviyo for a store running Shopify or WooCommerce; pick Mailchimp for most other small businesses that want a cheaper, more general email tool.
Which should you pick?
Which one we would pick for each kind of business, and the one-line reason.
| If you run a… | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Marketing agency | Klaviyo | Klaviyo charges nothing extra as more of an agency's staff log into one client's account, while Mailchimp's seat caps can force a pricier plan regardless of that client's actual list size. |
| Coach or course creator | Mailchimp | A course creator's list rarely comes from Shopify or WooCommerce order data, so Klaviyo's ecommerce-scoped add-ons go mostly unused while Mailchimp's cheaper entry plan covers the same launch and newsletter emails. |
| Online store | Klaviyo | Klaviyo's flows are built directly on Shopify and WooCommerce order and browsing history, with an order-volume-priced Reviews add-on that Mailchimp has no equivalent for. |
| Local service business | Mailchimp | A business selling appointments rather than a product catalog gets little from Klaviyo's ecommerce integrations and pays less on Mailchimp for the same reminder and newsletter emails. |
| Freelancer or consultant | Mailchimp | At solo-operator list sizes Mailchimp's entry plan costs less than Klaviyo's, and a service freelancer rarely has the Shopify or WooCommerce catalog Klaviyo's add-ons are built around. |
| Early-stage SaaS | Mailchimp | An early-stage startup's list is small and not tied to ecommerce orders, so Mailchimp's lower entry price matters more than Klaviyo's Shopify- and WooCommerce-specific features. |
What each one really costs
The real monthly bill for Klaviyo and Mailchimp at three business sizes, using the same assumptions for both, as of 26 September 2026. Open either pricing page for every line of each bill.
| Size | Klaviyo | Mailchimp | Cheaper |
|---|---|---|---|
| SoloSolo operator, 1,000 active profiles | $30high confidence | $26.50high confidence | Mailchimp, by $3.50/mo |
| Small teamSmall team, 10,000 active profiles | $150high confidence | $135high confidence | Mailchimp, by $15/mo |
| Growing teamGrowing team, 50,000 active profiles | $860high confidence | $815high confidence | Mailchimp, by $45/mo |
Klaviyo and Mailchimp side by side
Klaviyo and Mailchimp side by side on the things that decide the choice for a small business, with our call on which has the edge on each.
| What matters | Klaviyo | Mailchimp | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan, at about 500 contacts/profiles | $20/mo (Email, 500 active profiles) | $13/mo (Essentials, 0-500 contacts band) | Mailchimp |
| Cost of adding a fourth or fifth person to one account | Nothing — price is set only by active-profile count, with no seat limit at any tier | Forces an upgrade — Essentials caps at 3 seats and Standard at 5; only Premium removes the limit | Klaviyo |
| SMS marketing | Native and usage-priced: $0.01 per US toll-free segment sent, carrier fees included | A separate add-on with no published flat rate; needs an application and a monthly credit purchase | Klaviyo |
| Ecommerce-specific features | Flows read Shopify/WooCommerce order and browsing history; a Reviews add-on ($25/mo, up to 250 orders) is scoped to store order volume | Purchase-behavior tracking and product recommendations included on every plan, including Free, but no Shopify- or WooCommerce-specific add-on | Klaviyo |
| Annual pre-pay discount | None — every self-serve plan bills monthly only, with no annual toggle on the pricing page | About 15% off, available on Premium at every tier and on Essentials/Standard once contacts pass 10,000 | Mailchimp |
| Free trial of a paid plan | None — a free-forever 250-profile plan stands in for a trial | 14-day self-serve trial on Essentials and Standard, credit card required at signup | Mailchimp |
| What happens when you outgrow your current tier | Automatic move to the next profile-compliant tier at its published price, whether you opted in or not | An overage charge applies, but its per-contact or per-email rate isn't published on the pricing or comparison pages | Klaviyo |
| Paid support beyond what's included | Professional support from $500/mo and Enterprise support from $1,800/mo, both needing a sales quote | Scales with plan instead of a separate purchase: 24/7 chat on Essentials/Standard, phone support and a dedicated onboarding specialist on Premium | Mailchimp |
| Free-plan ceiling | 250 active profiles, 500 emails/month, plus a monthly Composer AI and mobile-messaging usage allowance included at no charge; email support for 60 days | 250 contacts, 500 emails/month (or 250/day), no automation flows or AI features; email support for 30 days only | Klaviyo |
| How long each company has been operating | Founded in 2012, as Klaviyo, Inc. | Founded in 2001; now operates as Intuit Mailchimp | Tie |
Klaviyo and Mailchimp both send email, but they price and build for different businesses. Klaviyo charges only by active-profile count, with no seat limit, and sells native SMS, an AI campaign composer and ecommerce-specific tools as add-ons on top. Mailchimp charges by contact-count band inside four named plans, Free, Essentials, Standard and Premium, that also cap how many people can log in. Every figure below comes from Klaviyo’s and Mailchimp’s own pricing and comparison pages, checked on and .
Which one actually costs less at your list size?
At the smallest paid tier the gap is close: Klaviyo’s Email plan costs $20 a month for 500 active profiles, and Mailchimp’s Essentials plan starts at $13 a month for up to 500 contacts. The three real bills show where that gap actually goes. A solo operator with about 1,000 contacts pays $30 a month on Klaviyo against $26.50 on Mailchimp. At 10,000 contacts and a five-person team, Klaviyo reaches $150 while Mailchimp reaches $135, for a different reason than list size alone: Mailchimp’s Essentials plan caps out at 3 seats, so a five-person team needs Standard regardless of how few contacts it has. Klaviyo charges nothing extra for the fourth or fifth person on the same account; its price only moves with profile count. At 50,000 contacts and roughly fifteen people, Klaviyo’s bill is $860 and Mailchimp’s is $815. Klaviyo’s number is pushed up by send volume, not list size: the 50,000-profile tier includes 500,000 emails a month, but around twelve campaigns to the full list adds up to roughly 600,000, so the plan has to move up a tier. Mailchimp’s number is pushed up by that same fifteen people needing seats Standard doesn’t have, not by the 50,000 contacts, which Standard’s own published range could otherwise handle on a cheaper plan.
Does your business run on Shopify or WooCommerce data?
Klaviyo describes itself as a “B2C CRM” built on unified customer profiles, with flows that read a contact’s real order and browsing history from an integrated store, mainly Shopify or WooCommerce. Its Reviews add-on, $25 a month for up to 250 orders, is scoped specifically to those two platforms’ order volume, and SMS is a native, usage-priced channel: outbound US toll-free texts cost $0.01 per segment, carrier fees included, on top of whichever Email plan you’re on. Mailchimp takes a more general approach. Purchase-behavior tracking and personalized product recommendations are included on every Mailchimp plan, even Free, but there’s no Shopify- or WooCommerce-specific add-on comparable to Klaviyo’s Reviews, and Mailchimp’s SMS and MMS marketing has no published flat rate at all: it requires an application and a separate monthly credit purchase, with the per-message cost varying by the country you’re sending to. A store running Shopify or WooCommerce gets more of what it specifically needs from Klaviyo’s side of this comparison. A business that just wants to send newsletters, announcements or service reminders without a product catalog behind them gets little extra value from Klaviyo’s ecommerce-specific pieces, and risks paying for Composer, Customer Hub, Social Marketing and Reviews add-ons it never touches.
What isn’t included in the sticker price?
Klaviyo’s Email plan is only the start of the bill for a lot of accounts. Composer, its AI marketing-agent add-on, is $20 a month flat on top of any Email plan, and its own overage runs $10 for every extra 1,000 AI credits once you exceed the plan’s allotment. Customer Hub and Social Marketing add $20 and $38 a month respectively at the tiers we checked, though both prices are time-limited introductory pricing set to run only through the end of this month, off higher list prices. None of the four add-ons is required to send email, but a Klaviyo account that wants all of them is paying five separate line items: the Email plan plus each add-on, not one bundled fee. Klaviyo is also specific about what happens if you outgrow your tier: profile counts over your current tier trigger an automatic move to a pricier, profile-compliant tier at the next billing cycle, whether or not you opted into that upgrade path. Mailchimp’s version of this problem is less transparent, not necessarily more expensive: every plan card carries a footnote that overage charges apply once you exceed your contact or send limit, but neither Mailchimp’s pricing page nor its plan-comparison page states what that overage actually costs per contact or per email.
Where most advice gets this wrong
Most head-to-head write-ups line the two plans up by exact contact count and call whichever number is lower the winner. That misses what’s actually forcing each bill. Klaviyo’s price moves only with active profiles and email volume; add a person to your team and the bill doesn’t change. Mailchimp’s price moves with contacts, but its seat caps sit underneath that: 3 seats on Essentials, 5 on Standard, and only Premium removes the limit. A team of five needing shared access to one list can end up on Mailchimp’s costlier available plan at a contact count Essentials would otherwise cover for less, and no comparison chart that stops at “contacts” shows that. The other place advice goes wrong is treating “more capable” as “the right pick.” Judged purely on feature depth, Klaviyo is the more built-out platform: native SMS with a published per-segment rate, an AI campaign composer, ecommerce-specific add-ons Mailchimp has no equivalent for. None of that is in dispute. But most of the businesses reading this comparison aren’t running a Shopify or WooCommerce store, and for them, Klaviyo’s ecommerce-specific machinery is a cost line that never gets used, not a reason to pay more. The honest read isn’t “Klaviyo is the better tool, so pick it”; it’s “pick the platform built for what you’re actually selling, and don’t pay for integrations you have no catalog to connect.”
Who gets a trial, and who’s stuck with the bill they signed up for?
Klaviyo doesn’t offer a time-limited trial of a paid plan; it offers a free-forever plan instead, capped at 250 active profiles, so you can use the real product indefinitely before ever entering a card number for a paid tier. Mailchimp works the other way: Essentials and Standard both come with a self-serve 14-day free trial, but valid payment information is required at enrollment, and the account is billed automatically the moment the trial ends unless you cancel first. Premium skips that self-serve trial in favor of a separate one-month trial arranged through Mailchimp’s sales team for qualified customers only. Billing commitment differs too. Klaviyo’s self-serve plans run month to month by credit card with no contract; only accounts spending enough across Klaviyo’s products to cross its own manual-billing threshold can move to an invoiced contract instead, with monthly, quarterly, semi-annual or annual cycles available once you’re there. Mailchimp runs month to month below 10,000 contacts on every plan, and adds an annual pre-pay option worth about 15% off once Essentials or Standard passes that mark, or from the very first tier on Premium. Klaviyo’s page is also explicit about cancelling: doing it immediately forfeits the rest of that paid month with no refund, so cancelling at the end of the billing cycle instead is the only way to use what you already paid for; Mailchimp’s pages don’t state an equivalent policy either way.
How we score them
Klaviyo
4.0 / 5
Klaviyo is a strong buy for an ecommerce-focused small business: its core Email pricing is transparent and scales predictably with active profiles, and its add-ons let a buyer add capability without switching platforms, though add-on sprawl and no annual discount mean the total bill can grow beyond the base plan's sticker price.
Why we score it 4.0
- Real cost3.5
- Pricing honesty4.0
- Small-team fit3.5
- Does the whole job4.5
- Freedom to leave4.0
- Track record4.0
- Real cost: Klaviyo's Email plan bill matches its published per-profile-tier sticker price, but send volume can force a costlier tier than profile count alone would suggest, as at 50,000 profiles, where the send volume needs the $860 tier rather than the $720 tier.
- Pricing honesty: Every Email profile tier is shown on a public self-serve calculator alongside published starting prices for the Composer, Customer Hub, Social Marketing and Reviews add-ons, though SMS/MMS/RCS message rates and manual-billing contract terms are not disclosed on the public site.
- Small-team fit: Klaviyo is self-serve with credit-card billing and a free 250-profile tier for testing, though active accounts must monitor profile counts to avoid being auto-moved to a pricier tier at renewal.
- Does the whole job: Klaviyo bundles email and SMS marketing with an AI campaign composer, an on-site customer hub, social marketing and reviews, letting an ecommerce seller consolidate several point tools into one Klaviyo account.
- Freedom to leave: Self-serve Klaviyo accounts are billed and can be cancelled month to month with no annual contract, though cancelling mid-cycle forfeits the remainder of that month with no refund.
- Track record: Klaviyo has operated since 2012, went public on the NYSE in 2023, and publishes a live status page covering its platform components.
Scored 27 September 2026 by two independent passes. Klaviyo runs an affiliate program we have joined or may join, so this is the lower of the two scores. How scoring works.
Mailchimp
3.7 / 5
Mailchimp remains one of the easiest and most established email tools for a non-technical small-business owner, with a generous feature set even on its Free plan, but unpublished overage and SMS pricing cost it points on cost predictability and honesty.
Why we score it 3.7
- Real cost3.0
- Pricing honesty3.0
- Small-team fit4.5
- Does the whole job3.5
- Freedom to leave4.0
- Track record4.0
- Real cost: Mailchimp's price is fixed to the contact-count band a business falls into, so the sticker price is the real bill for that band, but the SMS/MMS add-on and any overage-limit charge have no published rate to predict in advance.
- Pricing honesty: Mailchimp publishes contact-band pricing and plan comparisons for Free, Essentials, Standard and Premium, but does not state a per-contact overage rate, an SMS/MMS credit price, or Pay As You Go pricing anywhere on its public site.
- Small-team fit: Mailchimp is built for self-serve setup with purchase-behavior segmentation and templates included even on its Free plan, and offers a 14-day self-serve trial on Essentials and Standard with no sales call.
- Does the whole job: Mailchimp combines email marketing, automation flows and ecommerce personalization with 300+ integrations on every plan including Free, covering most of a small merchant's marketing-layer needs in one subscription.
- Freedom to leave: Essentials and Standard bill month to month below 10,000 contacts with contact-export tools built in, though Mailchimp's comparison page flags overage charges without stating their size.
- Track record: Mailchimp has operated continuously since 2001 and has been owned by Intuit since 2021, giving it one of the longest operating histories among small-business email tools.
Scored 27 September 2026 by two independent passes. Mailchimp does not pay us, so this is the average of the two. How scoring works.
How we checked this
Klaviyo: Read Klaviyo's pricing page (the 'Free' tab; the 'Marketing' tab's Email active-profiles slider at its default 500-profile position and moved to 1,000, 10,000, 50,000 and 60,000 profiles, plus the full 50-position slider sweep; the Composer, Professional Services and Enterprise tabs) with FAQ answers expanded, plus klaviyo.com/uk/pricing, the sign-up and About pages and Klaviyo Help Center articles on billing, plan changes, active profiles, mobile messaging and Composer, all in a US-locale headless browser; snapshots saved. An independent fact-check on 2026-09-27 re-read every cited figure against its snapshot and re-rendered the Marketing tab live, which still showed the same Email, add-on and SMS figures. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.
- Pricing page, default 'Free' tab (initial load) — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing page, 'Free' tab with all 11 FAQ answers expanded — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing page, 'Marketing' tab, Email active-profiles slider at its default 500 profiles, with all FAQ answers expanded — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing page, 'Marketing' tab, Email active-profiles slider set to 1,000 profiles — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing page, 'Marketing' tab, Email active-profiles slider set to 10,000 profiles — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing page, 'Marketing' tab, Email active-profiles slider set to 50,000 profiles — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing page, 'Marketing' tab, Email active-profiles slider set to 60,000 profiles — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing page, 'Marketing' tab, Email active-profiles slider swept through all 50 positions (500 to 150,000+), one line per position — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing page, 'Composer' tab, with all 7 FAQ answers expanded — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing page, 'Professional Services' tab — read 26 September 2026
- Pricing page, 'Enterprise' tab, with all 11 FAQ answers expanded — read 26 September 2026
- UK pricing page, default 'Free' tab — read 26 September 2026
- Sign-up page — read 26 September 2026
- About Klaviyo page — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: How Klaviyo billing works — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Understanding active email profiles in Klaviyo — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Understanding how free and paid plans differ — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: FAQ: Feb 18 billing changes — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Understand Klaviyo's mobile messaging system — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: FAQ 7/13 Mobile Messaging Update (credits to dollar-based rates) — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: How to downgrade to free, cancel a plan, or close your Klaviyo account — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: Understanding manual billing — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: How your Composer plan works — read 26 September 2026
- Help Center: How to add or change a billing plan (manual upgrades, auto-upgrade default) — read 26 September 2026
Automated re-check on : all 1 prices we re-read were still on Klaviyo's pages.
- MMS, WhatsApp (marketing and transactional) and RCS (Basic and Single) per-message rates: the pricing calculator displayed all four at a literal $0.00 + carrier fees per send at every tier we checked, which we don't believe is the real rate (Klaviyo's own help center says MMS costs more to send than SMS). We could not get the calculator to render a non-zero, channel-specific number, so these were left out of usage[] rather than record a figure we don't trust.
- Full profile-tier price tables for Customer Hub and Social Marketing beyond the single data points captured (their displayed tier breakpoints don't move in lockstep with the Email plan's own slider), and Reviews pricing above the 250-orders/month tier.
- Mobile Messaging's own subscription tiers and starting price: SMS is bought as a prepaid monthly Mobile Messaging plan, but Klaviyo's help articles give only example amounts ('$115 Mobile Messaging plan', a '$900/month plan'), and the calculator's Mobile messages card showed 'Monthly cost $40.00' without stating the message volume behind it, so no Mobile Messaging subscription price went into addOns.
- Marketing Analytics (help center: starting at $100/month for up to 13,500 active profiles), Advanced Klaviyo Data Platform (help center example: $4,765/month for 1,000,000 profiles), Helpdesk (starting at $10/month for up to 50 tickets) and Customer Agent (starting at $50/month for up to 75 conversations) all have published starting prices in Klaviyo's help center, but this record is scoped to the Email/Marketing side of Klaviyo and does not verify or include these Service/Data-platform products as add-ons.
- Whether a visitor with a genuine non-US geo-IP sees a different currency or price on klaviyo.com; see the regional note. Only US-locale/egress sessions were captured.
- Exact Professional and Enterprise support-package prices beyond the published 'starting at $500/month' and 'starting at $1,800/month' figures; both require 'Contact sales' for a final quote.
- Whether a payment card is required to create a free account: the captured sign-up page shows only the first form step (email and password). Klaviyo's help center says no card is needed to start the free Composer plan, but that article is about Composer, not account sign-up.
- Whether the introductory Customer Hub ($20) and Social Marketing ($38 at 10,000 profiles) prices continue after 09/30/2026; the calculator's list prices at those tiers are $30 and $50.
Mailchimp: Mailchimp's own marketing pricing page (mailchimp.com/pricing/marketing/) was read in a US-locale headless Chromium browser at its default view (0-500 contacts), then re-driven three more times using the page's native contacts <select> element to the 501-1,500, 5,001-10,000 and 40,001-50,000 contacts bands (covering 1,000, 10,000 and 50,000 contacts respectively) to capture Essentials/Standard/Premium prices at each band. Mailchimp's own plan-comparison page (mailchimp.com/pricing/marketing/compare-plans/) was read the same way for the Free plan's exact contact/send limit and every plan's seat, audience and maximum-contact caps. All five page views were saved as snapshots. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.
- Mailchimp Marketing pricing page, default view (0-500 contacts band) — read 26 September 2026
- Same page, contacts selector set to the 501-1,500 contacts band (covers 1,000 contacts) — read 27 September 2026
- Same page, contacts selector set to the 5,001-10,000 contacts band (covers 10,000 contacts) — read 27 September 2026
- Same page, contacts selector set to the 40,001-50,000 contacts band (covers 50,000 contacts) — read 27 September 2026
- Mailchimp's plan-comparison page: Free plan's exact contact/send limit, seat/audience/role caps per plan, and each plan's maximum published contact tier — read 27 September 2026
- Help center: About Your Contacts, which contact types count toward the monthly contact limit — read 27 September 2026
Automated re-check on : all 4 prices we re-read were still on Mailchimp's pages.
- Mailchimp's SMS/MMS add-on has no flat published per-message or per-credit rate on its pricing page, comparison page, or 'About SMS Marketing Credits' help article; the help article states credit cost 'varies based on sending country' and gives only a formula (contacts x sends/month x credit cost = credits needed) — the actual per-country credit-cost table is populated only inside a logged-in account. Not included in addOns/usage.
- The Transactional Emails add-on is listed as 'Prices vary' (Premium/Standard) or 'Demo only' (Essentials/Free) on the comparison page, with no dollar figure given.
- The Pay As You Go plan (buy email credits without a recurring subscription, at mailchimp.com/pricing/pay-as-you-go/) exists but its per-credit or package price was not found on that page; pricing appears to require an account's Billing settings to view.
- The exact contact-count breakpoint where Premium's price first rises above $350/month is somewhere between 10,000 and 50,000 contacts; only the endpoints ($350 at 10,000; $815 at 50,000) were captured, not the intermediate bands (10,001-15,000 through 30,001-40,000).
- Standard's maximum published self-serve tier ('Up to 100,000 contacts with our $800/mo tier', per the comparison page) was not independently re-verified by selecting that exact contacts band.
- Whether Mailchimp's underlying list price (not just currency/display) actually differs by country or region was not tested; only the USD/US-locale price was captured. See regional.note.
- The exact per-contact or per-email overage rate charged when a plan's contact or send limit is exceeded is not published on the pages captured (see extraCosts).
We re-check every price against the vendor's page each Monday; changes are logged on the changes page. See a price that's wrong? Tell us and we will correct it the same week.
Frequently asked questions
Is Klaviyo or Mailchimp cheaper?
It depends on your list size and team size, not just the sticker price. Klaviyo's Email plan costs $20 a month at 500 active profiles; Mailchimp's Essentials plan starts at $13 a month for up to 500 contacts, and Mailchimp stays cheaper at solo-operator scale, $26.50 a month against Klaviyo's $30 at around 1,000 contacts. The gap can flip once a team gets involved: Klaviyo charges nothing extra for more people on one account, while Mailchimp's Essentials plan caps out at 3 seats and Standard at 5, so a five-person team can be forced onto a pricier Mailchimp plan at a contact count that wouldn't otherwise need it. At 50,000 contacts, Klaviyo runs $860 a month and Mailchimp runs $815, with Klaviyo's number driven up by email-send volume and Mailchimp's by seats, not list size, in both cases.
Which is better for a Shopify or WooCommerce store, Klaviyo or Mailchimp?
Klaviyo, for most stores with real order volume. It's built around Shopify and WooCommerce order and browsing history, so its email and SMS flows can target based on what a customer actually bought or viewed, and its Reviews add-on, $25 a month for up to 250 orders, is scoped specifically to that order data. Mailchimp isn't a bad fit either: purchase-behavior tracking and personalized product recommendations are included on every Mailchimp plan, even the free one, so a very small store can get basic ecommerce personalization at no cost before Klaviyo's paid tiers make sense. But Mailchimp has no add-on comparable to Klaviyo's Reviews, and its SMS marketing has no published flat rate, unlike Klaviyo's $0.01-per-segment published rate. Once a store has enough order volume to justify a dedicated ecommerce email platform, Klaviyo's tools are built for exactly that job in a way Mailchimp's more general feature set isn't.
Does Klaviyo or Mailchimp have a better free plan?
Both cap their free plans at 250 contacts and 500 email sends a month, which makes them closer than most comparisons suggest. Klaviyo's free plan adds a small monthly allowance of Composer AI and mobile-messaging usage at no extra charge, and includes full email support for the first 60 days after signup. Mailchimp's free plan also limits sends to 250 a day within that monthly cap, includes only 1 seat and 1 audience, has no automation flows or AI features at all, and its email support window is shorter, 30 days rather than 60. Neither plan raises its contact cap over time, and both are free indefinitely rather than time-limited, so the real choice on the free tier comes down to whether you want Klaviyo's AI and SMS allowance or Mailchimp's broader base feature set, such as landing pages and forms, at the same $0 price.
Do Klaviyo and Mailchimp offer a free trial?
Not in the same way. Klaviyo doesn't run a time-limited trial of a paid plan at all; instead it offers a free-forever plan capped at 250 active profiles, so you can use the real product indefinitely before ever paying. Mailchimp offers a genuine 14-day self-serve trial, but only on its Essentials and Standard plans, and only if you provide valid payment information at signup; the account is billed automatically the moment the trial ends unless you cancel first. Mailchimp's Premium plan skips that self-serve trial and instead offers a separate one-month trial arranged through its sales team, for qualified new customers only, not something you can start yourself. If you want to try before committing a card, Mailchimp's Essentials or Standard trial is the more literal free trial; if you'd rather use a real account indefinitely at no cost and upgrade only when you outgrow it, Klaviyo's free plan does that instead.
Does Klaviyo or Mailchimp charge extra for team members?
Mailchimp does, indirectly; Klaviyo doesn't. Klaviyo's Email plan is priced only by active-profile count, and nothing in its published pricing caps or charges for how many people log into one account. Mailchimp instead caps seats by plan: 3 on Essentials, 5 on Standard, and only Premium removes the limit entirely. That means a growing team can be forced to upgrade Mailchimp plans purely because it added a person, even if its contact list hasn't grown at all, while the same team on Klaviyo pays the same price it would with one person on the account. The trade-off is that Mailchimp's higher tiers add real capability alongside the extra seats, such as more automation-flow steps and, on Premium, phone support and a dedicated onboarding specialist, so an upgrade forced by headcount usually comes with more of the product too, not just a seat tax.
Can I send SMS marketing from Klaviyo or Mailchimp?
Yes from both, but only Klaviyo publishes what it costs. Klaviyo builds SMS in as a native, usage-priced channel: outbound texts to a US recipient from a toll-free number cost $0.01 per segment, with carrier fees already included in that rate, on top of whatever Email plan you're on. Mailchimp treats SMS and MMS as a separate add-on that isn't priced as a flat rate anywhere on its pricing or comparison pages; its help center says the per-message cost varies by the country you're sending to, and using it at all requires an application and approval process plus a separate monthly credit purchase, not a simple plan upgrade. If knowing your SMS cost in advance matters, Klaviyo's published per-segment rate is the more predictable option; Mailchimp's SMS is usable, but its actual dollar cost isn't something you can check on the public pricing page before signing up.
What happens if I go over my plan's limit on Klaviyo or Mailchimp?
Differently, and neither outcome is clearly better. On Klaviyo, exceeding your Email plan's active-profile tier triggers 'profile compliance': you're automatically moved to a pricier, profile-compliant tier at the start of your next billing cycle, whether or not you opted into any upgrade preference; the only way to avoid it is suppressing enough profiles at least 24 hours before renewal. For email-send overages specifically, Klaviyo lets you choose a one-time flexible charge, a permanent auto-upgrade, or pausing sends instead. Mailchimp's pricing and comparison pages both carry a footnote that overage charges apply once you exceed your contact or send limit, but neither page states what that overage actually costs per contact or per email. You can know Klaviyo's mechanism and price it in advance; Mailchimp's overage exists, but its exact dollar cost isn't published anywhere a prospective customer can check before signing up.
First published 27 September 2026 · Last updated