CinchStack

Semrush vs Ahrefs

Quick answer

As of 26 September 2026, Semrush's cheapest plan built for ongoing SEO work costs $139.95 a month, and Ahrefs' closest match, Lite, costs $129 while tracking more keywords. Semrush updates rankings daily and offers a 7-day free trial on its cheaper plans; Ahrefs updates weekly and offers no trial at all, only a permanent free account for sites you verify. A freelancer or small agency on a tight budget generally comes out ahead on Ahrefs, since it tracks more keywords per dollar and includes API access from its $129 Lite plan up. A single-location local business fits neither core plan well; Semrush's separate Local Toolkit is the better buy there.

Which should you pick?

Which one we would pick for each kind of business, and the one-line reason.

If you run a…PickWhy
Marketing agencyAhrefsAn agency managing several client sites gets more tracked keywords, API access from Lite up, and cheaper extra seats from Ahrefs than from Semrush's matching plans.
Freelancer or consultantAhrefsA freelancer working solo pays less on Ahrefs' Lite plan than on Semrush's SEO plan for more tracked keywords, though only Semrush lets you try before you commit with its 7-day trial.
Online storeAhrefsAn online store tracking many product and category keywords gets more headroom for less money from Ahrefs' Lite plan than from Semrush's SEO plan, at a similar monthly crawl allowance for technical audits.
Local service businessSemrushA single-location service business needs its Google Business Profile ranking locally, not backlink research, and Semrush is the only one of the two with a standalone Local Toolkit built for exactly that, at $30 a location a month.
Coach or course creatorNeitherA coach or course creator's traffic usually comes from content, email and paid social rather than technical SEO, so neither platform's keyword-tracking plans are the first tool worth paying for at this stage.
Early-stage SaaSAhrefsAn early-stage startup gets more from Ahrefs before spending anything, since Ahrefs Free monitors a verified domain indefinitely and Starter adds keyword tracking for $29 a month with no annual lock-in.

What each one really costs

The real monthly bill for Semrush and Ahrefs at three business sizes, using the same assumptions for both, as of 26 September 2026. Open either pricing page for every line of each bill.

SizeSemrushAhrefsCheaper
SoloSolo: 1 user, up to 3 sites, ~500 tracked keywords $139.95high confidence $129high confidence Ahrefs, by $10.95/mo
Small teamSmall team: 2 users, ~5 sites, ~1,500 tracked keywords $379high confidence $309high confidence Ahrefs, by $70/mo
Growing teamGrowing team: 4 users, ~15 sites, ~5,000 tracked keywords $849high confidence $689high confidence Ahrefs, by $160/mo

Semrush and Ahrefs side by side

Semrush and Ahrefs side by side on the things that decide the choice for a small business, with our call on which has the edge on each.

What mattersSemrushAhrefsEdge
Plan near the $130 entry priceSEO: $139.95/mo, 500 keywords tracked daily, no historical data, no API accessLite: $129/mo, 750 keywords tracked weekly, 6 months of history, API includedAhrefs
Free trial before you pay7-day free trial on SEO, Starter and Pro+ (a card is required)No free trial on any paid planSemrush
How often rankings refreshDaily, on every paid planWeekly, on every plan, including EnterpriseSemrush
API accessOnly on Advanced, $549/moIncluded from Lite, $129/moAhrefs
Historical ranking and traffic dataNot included on the SEO plan; not stated for Starter, Pro+ or Advanced6 months on Lite, up to 5 years on Advanced, unlimited on EnterpriseAhrefs
Room to add teammatesNo published seat cap; each extra login costs $45 to $100 a monthLite tops out at 3 users total; Standard at 6; Advanced at 11Semrush
How an extra seat is billedOne flat price per plan: $45, $80 or $100 a user a monthMetered by usage on Lite ($20 to $40); a flat $60 to $100 a user a month from Standard upTie
AI-search prompts bundled into the plan50 to 200 of your own prompts tracked daily, bundled from Starter up5 to 20 of your own prompts tracked daily, bundled from Lite upSemrush
Checking any brand's AI visibility with no setupNot sold as a standalone lookup; only your own configured promptsBrand Radar's AI Visibility Index, from $199/mo, no prompts to configureAhrefs
Refund if you change your mind7-day money-back guarantee on annual plans and add-on purchasesNo general refunds; a discretionary exception for unused monthly plansSemrush

Where Semrush pulls ahead

Semrush’s SEO + AI Search plans update tracked keyword rankings daily, on every paid tier from SEO up to Advanced. Ahrefs’ Rank Tracker refreshes weekly by default on every plan, including its $1,499-a-month Enterprise tier, with no published way to pay for faster updates. For a business that needs to see a ranking move the same day content goes live or a competitor changes something, that gap is the whole decision.

Semrush is also the only one of the two with a genuine free trial: 7 days on the SEO, Starter and Pro+ plans, card required, with the authorization charge reversed if you cancel in time. Ahrefs offers no free trial and no discounts of any kind on any plan. Semrush also bundles more AI-search prompt tracking into its plans: up to 200 of your own prompts checked daily on Advanced, against Ahrefs’ 20 on its own Advanced plan.

For a single-location service business, Semrush has one more thing Ahrefs doesn’t: a standalone Local Toolkit, sold without needing a core SEO plan, for Google Business Profile management, review replies and local map tracking, starting at $30 a location a month.

Where Ahrefs pulls ahead

Cost is the clearest one. At every size in the bills above, Ahrefs comes out cheaper than Semrush’s matching plan, and it tracks as many or more keywords while doing it: Lite tracks 750 keywords against the SEO plan’s 500, and Standard tracks 2,000 against Pro+‘s 1,500, both at a lower monthly price.

Ahrefs also builds in more than Semrush does at the same price point. API and MCP access ships from Lite ($129 a month) up; on Semrush, API access is locked to the $549-a-month Advanced plan. Ahrefs’ Lite plan already includes 6 months of historical ranking and traffic data, rising to 5 years on Advanced and unlimited on Enterprise; Semrush’s own plan table states plainly that the SEO plan has none, and doesn’t say what the higher tiers include.

Team size is the one place this flips: Ahrefs’ Lite plan hard-caps a team at 3 users in total, and Standard at 6, while Semrush publishes no such ceiling — you just keep paying $45 to $100 for each extra login. An agency that will outgrow 6 seats on one Ahrefs account should price that in before it commits.

How the bill changes as your team and keyword count grow

The three bills above use the same assumptions for both tools, and the gap between them doesn’t close as a team grows. Both tools force the same upgrade pattern as keyword counts rise: past roughly 500 to 750 tracked keywords, and again past roughly 1,500 to 2,000, whatever the seat count. Add a person past the plan’s included seat and the price moves in a fixed step on both sides — $45 to $100 on Semrush depending on the plan, $20 to $100 on Ahrefs, where the low end only applies to light users on Ahrefs’ metered Lite plan. Once a team needs Semrush Advanced or Ahrefs Advanced, both plans still include only one seat, so the per-seat cost that shows up on the small-team bill keeps applying rather than shrinking. Paying annually helps on both, but not by an identical amount: Semrush’s plans save 16 to 17%, while Ahrefs’ pricing page says “save up to 17%” and its help center separately calls the same annual discount “almost 20%”. Neither turns a monthly figure into a clean annual one you can compare at a glance — the tables above already do that math for both, at each size.

What it costs to switch from one to the other

Switching means starting your historical data over, not just changing which login you use. Neither platform exports the other’s ranking history or backlink profile in a format the other imports, so moving from Ahrefs to Semrush drops whatever historical depth you had built up — 6 months on Lite, or up to 5 years on Advanced — and moving the other way means Ahrefs starts that history clock over from zero on whichever plan you land on. Rank Tracker projects, Site Audit crawl settings and tracked keyword lists on either platform have to be rebuilt by hand; neither vendor publishes a tool for moving them across.

The other switching cost is timing. Ahrefs offers no free trial, so testing it before committing to a paid plan means paying for at least one month — Starter at $29, or Lite at $129 — with no guaranteed way back if it isn’t a fit, since Ahrefs only considers a refund for an unused monthly account, case by case. Semrush’s 7-day trial is the safer way to test in the other direction, but only on the SEO, Starter or Pro+ plans, and only if you cancel inside the week before the standard rate applies.

Where most advice gets this wrong

Most head-to-head posts put Ahrefs’ Starter plan next to Semrush’s SEO plan and call Ahrefs the clear budget option, pointing at the sticker prices alone. That isn’t a comparison between two real alternatives. Starter tracks 50 keywords in a single unverified project, can’t export a single report, and can’t add a second user at any price — Ahrefs’ own help center says so directly. It’s built for a freelancer running the lightest possible check on one site, not as a cheaper stand-in for a plan that tracks 500 keywords across 5 sites with exports included.

The realistic entry comparison is Semrush’s SEO plan against Ahrefs’ Lite plan, and there Ahrefs is still the cheaper, more generous option: more tracked keywords, more historical data, and an API, all for less money than Semrush charges. The mistake isn’t picking Ahrefs — on these numbers, Lite usually is the better entry plan for a solo operator. The mistake is the reasoning: crediting Starter’s price for that win, when Starter isn’t a plan a real SEO operation could run ongoing work on.

What the free plan and free trial actually let you do

Semrush’s free account needs no card and doesn’t expire, but it’s built for occasional lookups, not ongoing tracking: one demo project, 10 reports a day across its main tools, and 10 keywords in Position Tracking. Ahrefs Free is also cardless and permanent, but shaped differently — unlimited websites you verify ownership of, with Site Explorer, Site Audit and Web Analytics on each one, though Keywords Explorer and Rank Tracker are excluded entirely. Monitor your own site’s backlinks and technical health indefinitely at no cost, and Ahrefs Free does more; check a competitor’s numbers occasionally without verifying anything, and Semrush’s free tier is the one built for that.

Trials work in one direction only. Semrush’s 7-day trial on SEO, Starter or Pro+ is the one real way to test either platform’s paid tier before paying, provided you cancel before the week is up; Ahrefs has no equivalent, and its FAQ states plainly that it runs no trials and no discounts of any kind. That makes Semrush the lower-risk way to test a paid SEO platform, and Ahrefs the platform you commit to on the strength of its published plan details alone.

How we score them

Semrush

Our score

3.6 / 5

Semrush is the broadest platform of the three, bundling core SEO with five other paid toolkits that can replace separate subscriptions, but its real bill climbs fastest with team size and its own documentation shows plan-history inconsistencies a small-business buyer has to work through.

Why we score it 3.6
  • Real cost3.0
  • Pricing honesty3.5
  • Small-team fit3.0
  • Does the whole job4.5
  • Freedom to leave3.0
  • Track record4.0
  • Real cost: The real bill matches the $139.95 sticker for a solo user but reaches $849/mo for a growing team, well above the $549 Advanced sticker, because each extra seat adds $80-$100 per month on top of the plan.
  • Pricing honesty: Every SEO + AI Search plan, its limits and each toolkit add-on carry an exact published price, but the cost of extra tracked keywords, projects or crawl pages beyond a plan's cap is not published anywhere, and Semrush's own knowledge base still lists legacy Guru/Business tier pricing that contradicts the current pricing page.
  • Small-team fit: Semrush sells SEO alongside six separate toolkits (Local, Content, Social, Advertising, Traffic & Market, AI PR), each with its own tiers and add-on prices, which is more toolkit-juggling than a non-technical owner running a single small site typically needs.
  • Does the whole job: Paid plans combine keyword research, daily rank tracking, site audits and backlink analysis under one login, and the same account can add local-SEO, content, social, ads and PR toolkits to cover work that would otherwise need separate subscriptions.
  • Freedom to leave: Every SEO + AI Search plan can be billed month to month, but the 7-day money-back guarantee applies only to initial annual subscriptions and add-on purchases, so a monthly subscriber who cancels is not refunded for the current term.
  • Track record: Semrush is a long-established SEO platform that, per its own company timeline, became an Adobe company in 2026, and its knowledge base still carries SEO Toolkit Pro/Guru/Business pricing that no longer matches the plans on its public pricing page.

Scored 27 September 2026 by two independent passes. Semrush runs an affiliate program we have joined or may join, so this is the lower of the two scores. How scoring works.

Ahrefs

Our score

3.7 / 5

Ahrefs offers the deepest backlink and keyword research of the three and a no-discount list price, but its plans and messaging are aimed at SEO practitioners rather than non-technical owners, and its no-refund, no-pause policy makes an exit less forgiving.

Why we score it 3.7
  • Real cost3.0
  • Pricing honesty3.5
  • Small-team fit2.5
  • Does the whole job4.5
  • Freedom to leave3.0
  • Track record4.0
  • Real cost: The real bill equals the $129 Lite sticker for a solo user but reaches $689/mo for a growing team, well above the $449 Advanced sticker, because each extra seat costs $80-$100 a month on top of the plan.
  • Pricing honesty: Every paid plan, its limits and most add-ons carry a published price, but pay-as-you-go rates for extra tracked keywords, export rows and crawl credits beyond a plan's limits are not published on any page Ahrefs makes public.
  • Small-team fit: Ahrefs pitches its Standard and Advanced plans at freelance SEOs, marketing consultants and in-house marketing teams rather than non-technical owners, and its Lite plan meters each user's own research activity against a monthly credit allowance that adds a usage concept to track.
  • Does the whole job: Ahrefs runs on its own web crawler for backlink and keyword research, technical site audits and rank tracking, and adds a Brand Radar tool for AI-answer brand mentions, all in one subscription.
  • Freedom to leave: Lite, Standard and Advanced can be billed monthly and cancelled before renewal, but Ahrefs does not issue refunds in general, offers no option to pause a subscription, and its Enterprise tier requires a minimum one-year commitment.
  • Track record: Ahrefs has operated since 2010 and states on its own site that it does not run discounts or promotional pricing, so the list price is the price everyone pays.

Scored 27 September 2026 by two independent passes. Ahrefs does not pay us, so this is the average of the two. How scoring works.

How we checked this

Semrush: Read from Semrush's SEO + AI Search and toolkit pricing pages (both billing toggles, the expanded plan comparison and the FAQ answers) plus Semrush knowledge-base articles on plans, users, billing, trials and refunds in a US-locale headless browser; snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.

Automated re-check on : all 5 prices we re-read were still on Semrush's pages.

What we could not verify:
  • The price of more SEO limits (extra tracked keywords, projects or crawl pages) beyond what a plan includes is not published on the pricing page or in the captured KB articles. Semrush points customers to the in-account Subscription info page.
  • We could not confirm whether new customers can still buy SEO Toolkit Guru or Business. A Semrush KB article lists them at $249.95 and $499.95 a month, but the public pricing page does not show them and no captured page gives their annual prices.
  • Free trial on Advanced: the pricing page shows no 'Try for free' button for Advanced, while Semrush's KB says the 7-day trial covers every SEO + AI Search plan. Not tested at checkout.
  • Additional-user prices under annual billing: the comparison table shows the same $45/$80/$100 per user under both toggles, but we did not see whether the annual checkout charges users per month or upfront for the year.
  • Local Toolkit Business (20+ locations) and Traffic & Market Custom are sales-quoted. Their prices were not captured.

Ahrefs: Read from Ahrefs' pricing page (default monthly view and with the 'Pay annually' switch on), its add-on product pages, FAQ and Terms of Service, and Ahrefs help-centre articles on plans, users, credits, billing and tax in a US-locale headless browser; snapshots saved. Last verified . Prices are US list prices in USD.

Automated re-check on : all 25 prices we re-read were still on Ahrefs' pages.

What we could not verify:
  • Extra tracked keywords: Ahrefs' help centre says they can be bought on any plan in batches of 500, pay-as-you-go or prepaid through support, but no captured page gives the price.
  • Faster rank updates: Ahrefs says Rank Tracker updates weekly by default on every plan. Whether more frequent updates can be bought, and at what price, is not stated on any captured page.
  • Pay-as-you-go prices for export rows and crawl credits are not published on the captured pages; the pricing FAQ only says they are charged automatically once enabled. On API units the two FAQs disagree: the pricing-page FAQ lists them among pay-as-you-go purchases, while Ahrefs' FAQ page says extra API units can't be bought below Enterprise. No price was captured for either.
  • The 'RB Enterprise' Report Builder add-on (unlimited reports and widgets) is listed on the Report Builder page without a price.
  • Brand Radar AI Visibility Index: the card shows $199/mo and a '$699/MO FOR ALL MODELS' label. Which AI platforms the $199 entry price covers was not captured.
  • Enterprise terms beyond the list price (included users 'From 3', limits marked 'From', add-ons and overage billing) are agreed with sales and were not captured.
  • Add-on prices on annual billing: the pricing page shows the same monthly add-on prices with the annual switch on, and no annual prices for add-ons were captured.

We re-check every price against the vendor's page each Monday; changes are logged on the changes page. See a price that's wrong? Tell us and we will correct it the same week.

Frequently asked questions

Is Semrush or Ahrefs cheaper?

It depends on which plan actually fits, not the cheapest button on each pricing page. Ahrefs' Starter plan lists at $29 a month, far below Semrush's cheapest plan at $139.95, but Starter tracks only 50 keywords in one unverified project, has no exports, and can't add a second user, so it isn't a like-for-like alternative for ongoing SEO work. The realistic comparison is Semrush's SEO plan against Ahrefs' Lite plan: $139.95 a month for Semrush against $129 a month for Ahrefs, and Lite tracks 750 keywords weekly against Semrush's 500 tracked daily. Add a second user and the gap holds: Ahrefs' Standard plan plus one extra seat costs less than Semrush's Pro+ plan plus one extra seat. Semrush's advantage is that its rankings refresh daily instead of weekly.

Does Ahrefs offer a free trial like Semrush?

No. Ahrefs' help center says it does not offer free trials or discounts on any paid plan; the cheapest way in is Starter at $29 a month, billed monthly with no minimum term, or the free Ahrefs Free account, which never expires but skips Keywords Explorer and Rank Tracker entirely. Semrush, by contrast, offers a 7-day free trial on its SEO, Starter and Pro+ plans, though a card is required and Semrush places a small authorization charge that is reversed. Cancel within the 7 days and you pay nothing; miss that window and the trial converts to a paid subscription at the standard rate. Semrush's Advanced plan and its separate toolkits, including AI Visibility, carry no trial either.

Which is better for an agency managing several clients?

Ahrefs tends to work out cheaper as an agency adds client seats. Standard's extra user costs $60 a month against Semrush Pro+'s $80, and Advanced's extra user costs $80 against Semrush Advanced's $100, while Ahrefs also tracks more keywords at each matching price point. Ahrefs builds in API and MCP access from Lite ($129 a month) up, which matters if an agency pulls data into its own client-reporting dashboard instead of exporting screenshots by hand. Semrush's advantage for agencies is its My Reports add-on, which supports white-labelling and share-by-link reporting starting at $10 a report a month, plus a listing on its Agency Partners Platform. Either way, extra logins are never free past the first seat on either platform.

Can Semrush or Ahrefs handle local SEO for a single-location business?

Semrush is the better fit if local search is the actual goal. Its Local Toolkit is sold on its own, without needing a core SEO plan, starting at $30 a location a month for a Google Business Profile AI agent that handles posts and review replies, plus a Map Rank Tracker. Ahrefs has no comparable standalone local-search product in its current lineup; its plans are built around keyword tracking, backlink research and site audits for a website, not around managing map-pack rankings or review responses. A single-location plumber, dentist or salon chasing local pack visibility is generally better served by Semrush's Local Toolkit alone than by either company's full SEO plans.

How often do Semrush and Ahrefs update keyword rankings?

Semrush updates tracked keywords daily on every paid plan, from its $139.95 SEO plan up to Advanced. Ahrefs' Rank Tracker updates weekly by default on every plan it sells, including the $1,499-a-month Enterprise tier, and Ahrefs' help center does not list a way to pay for faster updates. For a business that needs to see a ranking move the day it happens, such as after a fast content push or a competitor's site change, that gap matters more than either tool's keyword-count limits. For everything else, a weekly refresh is normal in SEO reporting and unlikely to change which plan you actually need.

Do Semrush and Ahrefs track brand mentions in AI answers like ChatGPT?

Yes, both track how brands appear in AI answers, but they bundle it differently. Semrush's Starter, Pro+ and Advanced plans include an AI Visibility Toolkit that tracks 50 to 200 of your own prompts a day depending on the plan, covering ChatGPT, Google AI, Gemini and Perplexity. Ahrefs' Lite, Standard and Advanced plans include its Brand Radar feature for 5 to 20 of your own prompts a day. Ahrefs also sells Brand Radar's AI Visibility Index separately, from $199 a month, which looks up any brand's existing AI mentions without setting up prompts first; Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit requires configuring prompts and a domain, and can be bought alone for $99 a month if you don't want a full SEO plan.

What happens if I cancel Semrush or Ahrefs?

On Semrush, cancelling stops the next renewal, and the 7-day money-back guarantee only covers your first annual subscription or add-on purchase paid by card; month-to-month plans are not refundable once billed. On Ahrefs, cancelling takes effect at the end of the current billing period and your account drops to the free Ahrefs Free tier afterward; Ahrefs says it does not issue refunds in general, though a monthly subscriber who hasn't used the service can ask and Ahrefs may grant it at its own discretion. Neither company prorates a mid-term cancellation back to you. If a flexible, low-risk exit matters most, budget around Semrush's annual refund window rather than counting on a refund from Ahrefs.

First published 27 September 2026 · Last updated